Best Carolina BBQ Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
this is the best, perfect for pulled pork, not bad on the grill either. I can it with no problems -excellent christmas gift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norton Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Thanks for a very good sauce recipe. I love pulled pork on a bun with coleslaw. Now, I have never been to the Carolina's to try for myself, but I did enjoy this sauce. I was short on time and made it in my pressure cooker (it did not scorch on low pressure for 10min + 10min). After making the sauce, I added my pork sirloin roast, cut in large chunks and cooked on medium pressure for 60 min. The meat fell apart when I shredded it. I added some sauce to moisten and passed more at dinner. My only change was for my daughter who is not terribly fond of vinegary sauces. I added a bit of ketchup (1/4c.)to cut the tang a bit. Next time I will try without and add the full amount + a bit of the chili powder and tabasco. Gonna go eat some leftovers now! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
I substituted some of the brown sugar for honey and I also added onions and garlic that I removed after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONKEYJADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Great flavor best on pork. I like to add a bottle of tomato barbque sauce to zip up the flavor. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYOFZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Had a good flavor although I didn't add any hot sauce it was plenty hot! Also if you blend regular BBQ (famous dave's zesty sauce) it gives it a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I used the BBQ Pork for Sandwiches recipe to cook my pork loin roast, then I drained the broth and added this sauce. Yumm-my! The vinegar fumes made our eyes water and our noses run, but that didn't stop us from inhaling our sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
My family didn't like this at all. Is this one of those recipes that one has to acquire a taste for it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Well it's Superbowl Sunday again and I'm back for the best recipe I've ever found on this site!!! I use this sauce on pulled pork sandwiches in my bar every year for the big game and I have patrons reserving tables months in advance. Thanks Andy, this is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORTLYCOOK

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ely, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This was excellent. I browned 5 lbs. of boneless chops, slathered them with this sauce and cooked them on low in the crock pot with about 3/4 cup of sauce. When they were falling apart I added the balance of the sauce (only made 2 cups of sauce) and shredded the meat. We had sandwiches the next day and my Carolina-raised husband said it was the best barbeque sandwich he'd ever eaten. I steamed the buns and topped the BBQ with a little extra hot sauce and regular slaw (as opposed to BBQ slaw) Yummy - better than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
All I have to say is WOW. Made this for my daughters b-day party for family only and they all raved. I cooked my bbq in the sauce as well as put it out for others to pile on. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States