Best Carolina BBQ Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Wow! As I prepared the sauce I seriously had doubts about this recipe. However after basting it over grilled chicken during the final stages of cooking, I became a believer. I could drink this sauce! I did do some slight modifications. I reduced the mustard to 3/4 cup, and used the pepper in moderation. (We have little kids)--hence, not so spicy. Still, it was fabulous! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Too bad there are not more stars. Excellent job Andy. I used it for ribs and they were gone in the twinkling of an eye. Thank you Andy for sharing......I will always have a jar in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
Thank you Thank you thank you! I am a Carolinian and with my own slight adjustments, I found this to be the closest to what I grew up with.....my family butchered their own meats and held their own pig pickins- Just like my grandaddy's..who was a butcher by trade! Thanks again for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
Very good and spicy but not at all what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Great for family reunion! A little spicy so I only used 1 cup mustard and added 1/2 cup pork broth to bbq sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Oh my goodness! This was fantastic! I am more used to BBQ from SE North Carolina but this mustard based sauce is great! Thanks Andy for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
My family loved this...even my picky teenager. We liked the extra kick in the sauce. They're already planning when I will use this again. I used brown sugar twin instead of the regular brown sugar and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Living in Charleston, I have had this type of sauce dozens of times, but this recipe is just what I was looking for. It's a little spicier than most, but I prefer a sweet-hot sauce. Also, omitted the liquid smoke and it was still great! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I made this sauce this weekend and it turned out really great. The next day I cooked a pork roast in the slow cooker until it fell apart then added this wonderful sauce to it. My husband thought it was just like what he had had in the Carolinas. Thanks for a great BBQ sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Thank you Andy! Stuck out here in Utah I have been DYING for good ole SC mustard base BBQ. I tell people about it here and they have no idea what I'm talking about. Your recipe hits it right on the head.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States