Best Carolina BBQ Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Living in Charleston, I have had this type of sauce dozens of times, but this recipe is just what I was looking for. It's a little spicier than most, but I prefer a sweet-hot sauce. Also, omitted the liquid smoke and it was still great! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Wow! As I prepared the sauce I seriously had doubts about this recipe. However after basting it over grilled chicken during the final stages of cooking, I became a believer. I could drink this sauce! I did do some slight modifications. I reduced the mustard to 3/4 cup, and used the pepper in moderation. (We have little kids)--hence, not so spicy. Still, it was fabulous! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Great stuff! Next time I will use less mustard and cut down on the white and black peppers. I did add a bit more brown sugar but overall fabulous for pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
i cut the mustard down to 3/4 cup and added 1/4 cup honey to take off the edge of what i knew would be a tangy sauce. cooked boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the crock pot with the sauce, and my husband loved it! we recently moved to north carolina, and this sauce stands up to what we've had in the highest-recommended diners here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
Thank you Thank you thank you! I am a Carolinian and with my own slight adjustments, I found this to be the closest to what I grew up with.....my family butchered their own meats and held their own pig pickins- Just like my grandaddy's..who was a butcher by trade! Thanks again for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I made this sauce this weekend and it turned out really great. The next day I cooked a pork roast in the slow cooker until it fell apart then added this wonderful sauce to it. My husband thought it was just like what he had had in the Carolinas. Thanks for a great BBQ sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This was excellent. I browned 5 lbs. of boneless chops, slathered them with this sauce and cooked them on low in the crock pot with about 3/4 cup of sauce. When they were falling apart I added the balance of the sauce (only made 2 cups of sauce) and shredded the meat. We had sandwiches the next day and my Carolina-raised husband said it was the best barbeque sandwich he'd ever eaten. I steamed the buns and topped the BBQ with a little extra hot sauce and regular slaw (as opposed to BBQ slaw) Yummy - better than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Oh my goodness! This was fantastic! I am more used to BBQ from SE North Carolina but this mustard based sauce is great! Thanks Andy for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
My family loved this...even my picky teenager. We liked the extra kick in the sauce. They're already planning when I will use this again. I used brown sugar twin instead of the regular brown sugar and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Great for family reunion! A little spicy so I only used 1 cup mustard and added 1/2 cup pork broth to bbq sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States