Best Carolina BBQ Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Great. Perfect balance of tartness w/spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
YUMMY!!! I made this exactly as it stated in the recipe. I served it with "Amazing Ribs" from this site. It's a very nice change from the norm for a midwesterner. This would be great with chicken as well. Kudos to Andy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raytown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
THIS VERSION RULES ALSO, I'M A EAST CAROLINA GIRL BORN AND RAISED. THE ONLY THING I WOULD DO DIFFERENT WITH THIS RECIPE IS CUT BACK ON THE CAYENNE PEPPER SO YOU CAN USED RED PEPPER FLAKES ALSO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This is awesome. You should patent it and sell it by the kilo!!!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I found this same recipe on a different website and I loved it! I'm from Charleston, SC originally and this is very similar to the sauce they use at a popular BBQ restaurant there. This sauce goes so well with pulled pork, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Carolina girl here! Thanks Andy, this is the recipe I have been looking for! I have tasted it in a couple of places around here and it is the absolute best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I think this is the most exciting recipe I've found on this site so far, and I have enjoyed so many of them! This is so incredibly tasty. I didn't have enough mustard for the recipe, so I used 3/4 cup, 1/4 cup of ketchup (all I had of that, too) and 1/2 cup of pork broth. I kept everything else the same. I couldn't stop tasting and smelling it! I think I'll try the original recipe next time I get more mustard, but the version I already made was a keeper too. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
For the 4th of July, we BBQ'd a whole pig and I made this sauce to go with it. Everyone LOVED this!! I cut back the mustard to 3/4 c. and then added 3/4 c. of honey. Thank you for this keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHINLYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This is an outstanding recipe. I dialed back the mustard to 1/2 cup and used 1 cup ketchup in its place for a more Tennessee-style sauce. I used it as a finishing sauce and table sauce for pulled pork and it proved to be the best pork sauce we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Carolina meets the Midwest. Cut back the mustard to almost 3/4 of a cup, added two fresh cloves of garlic diced and one onion diced. Added about 1/2 cup of EVOO along with rest of ingredients, mixed all together used it as a marinade and let ribs marinate overnight. Grilled the next day. Yummy Yummy Yummy. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States