Best Carolina BBQ Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I always thought I leaned more toward the red bbq sauce camp... that is until tasting this. Must love mustard, though, to appreciate this sauce -- half of my crew really dug it, the other half notsomuch. I served this alongside "Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker" (recipe by Kikuchan). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mellie18_99
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe was a little to Mustardy for myself but my husband LOVED it. If it were up to him he would've given it 5 stars. I love the vinegar in it, so next time i will cut down the mustard by half and actually add more vinegar. After the sauce was completed I went ahead and added my own personal touches but stayed true to the Carolina way and did not add any red sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I made this sauce yesterday, it took a little bit longer than I wanted but it didn't effect my rating. This was a simple mustard base sauce, my husband loves it on EVERYTHING. My only modification was using white vinegar instead of the cider. I made 4 canning jars for future use. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love this sauce! My hubby is from Charleston, SC and he introduced me to mustard based BBQ sauce when we visited SC a few years ago. I was so excited to find this recipe and knew he would love it! Everyone else at the Labor Day party loved it as well. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have any liquid smoke. I'm sure it would have been even better if I did! It definitely smelled very vinegary while cooking, but just as described after it cooled down it was awesome! It's spicier than most mustard based sauces we've tried, but I like that about it. I served this with pork ribs and a smoked beef brisket and it was fabulous with both! I'm excited to smoke some chicken soon and serve this with the chicken also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
My husband and I LOVE this sauce. We fell in love with a mustard based sauce in a South Carolina restaurant and this comes very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
"FANTASTIC" Made exact to recipe. I was licking the pan. Do yourself a favor. DON"T modify it till you try it. Thanks for the awesome sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for! Mustard is our favorite condiment and vinegar and hot sauce rank pretty high as well. I didn't have any liquid smoke but I do now and will definitely use it next time. Otherwise made exactly as written. We charcoal grilled pork, shredded it and made sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I had never tasted a carolina mustard,vinegar based sauce. I made a double batch,but with only 1 1/4 cup mustard (that is all I had) We love it. I had slow cooked a 7 lb pork shoulder. Next time I want to smoke the pork instead of slow cook. But it was really good anyway. I might try it with a little more mustard too,even though it was great as I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Absolutely amazing! I added some honey (about 1/4 cup) to tone it down a little. I also did not have any Cheyenne pepper so I added more chili powder and some Tabasco (I prefer the green chili!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is my family's favorite Carolina bbq sauce recipe. I made 6 different bbq sauces last week and we didn't really care for any of them, so I decided to try one more recipe and this is exactly what we were looking for. Thanks for a great recipe. We served this over smoked pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States