Best Carolina BBQ Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I always thought I leaned more toward the red bbq sauce camp... that is until tasting this. Must love mustard, though, to appreciate this sauce -- half of my crew really dug it, the other half notsomuch. I served this alongside "Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker" (recipe by Kikuchan). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mellie18_99
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe was a little to Mustardy for myself but my husband LOVED it. If it were up to him he would've given it 5 stars. I love the vinegar in it, so next time i will cut down the mustard by half and actually add more vinegar. After the sauce was completed I went ahead and added my own personal touches but stayed true to the Carolina way and did not add any red sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I made this sauce yesterday, it took a little bit longer than I wanted but it didn't effect my rating. This was a simple mustard base sauce, my husband loves it on EVERYTHING. My only modification was using white vinegar instead of the cider. I made 4 canning jars for future use. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love this sauce! My hubby is from Charleston, SC and he introduced me to mustard based BBQ sauce when we visited SC a few years ago. I was so excited to find this recipe and knew he would love it! Everyone else at the Labor Day party loved it as well. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have any liquid smoke. I'm sure it would have been even better if I did! It definitely smelled very vinegary while cooking, but just as described after it cooled down it was awesome! It's spicier than most mustard based sauces we've tried, but I like that about it. I served this with pork ribs and a smoked beef brisket and it was fabulous with both! I'm excited to smoke some chicken soon and serve this with the chicken also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
My husband and I LOVE this sauce. We fell in love with a mustard based sauce in a South Carolina restaurant and this comes very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
"FANTASTIC" Made exact to recipe. I was licking the pan. Do yourself a favor. DON"T modify it till you try it. Thanks for the awesome sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for! Mustard is our favorite condiment and vinegar and hot sauce rank pretty high as well. I didn't have any liquid smoke but I do now and will definitely use it next time. Otherwise made exactly as written. We charcoal grilled pork, shredded it and made sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I had never tasted a carolina mustard,vinegar based sauce. I made a double batch,but with only 1 1/4 cup mustard (that is all I had) We love it. I had slow cooked a 7 lb pork shoulder. Next time I want to smoke the pork instead of slow cook. But it was really good anyway. I might try it with a little more mustard too,even though it was great as I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Absolutely amazing! I added some honey (about 1/4 cup) to tone it down a little. I also did not have any Cheyenne pepper so I added more chili powder and some Tabasco (I prefer the green chili!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is my family's favorite Carolina bbq sauce recipe. I made 6 different bbq sauces last week and we didn't really care for any of them, so I decided to try one more recipe and this is exactly what we were looking for. Thanks for a great recipe. We served this over smoked pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States