Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Soo delicious! I used the whole butternut squash and roasted it on a baking sheet on broil for 5 min or so to bring out the flavor after cubing it. I also have lemon thyme plants in my yard so I used that instead of regular thyme otherwise I followed the recipe in order with the same sesonings. Perfect for the first snow in the mountains. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airisaiia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
So delicious! I used an entire 5 lb butternut squash, tripled the fresh thyme and garlic, and added a leek, but kept the stock at 4 cups. While I was pureeing i added about a cup of whole milk. Upon tasting I added some garlic salt. This soup is so good. It thickens a bit while it cools. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
WOW!!! I just made this soup and it is amazing! It was simple to make and tastes delicious. I added an apple for a little extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I roasted the squash with garlic and broth before making the soup. It adds a richness the boiling can't touch. Other than that I made as directed. Five moms asked for the recipe. Great and easy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
We really liked this recipe, but next time we will use a cup less chicken stock and more squash. Also, we might cut back on the cumin. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pecatonica, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
GREAT soup! I took some of the reviews advice and changed a few things: Pretty much quadrupled the quantity, i added 2 peeled apples when i simmered the squash, then when i was blending it i added 2 cups heavy cream. it was seasoned perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INJUNCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomfret, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
OMG....Divine! Thick,rich flavor. I added 1 cup of heavy cream to enhance the flavor. WOWWWWW! Tastes like something fancy served at the Ritz Carlton(or any 5 star restaurant) Bon Appetit:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
an easy 5 STARS i used a whole squash cut in half seasoned and roasted. i also added a little cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit and about a cup of 10% cream. I didn't have thyme but I wish i had i think that if its even possible it may have made it better. I also topped each bowl of the soup with a dollop of sour cream. Thanx for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Oh my gosh! This was so good. I used only 2 cups of chicken stock and 1 cup of cream added before I pureed ingredients. And I used the whole squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Wow, this really is delicious...I truly am surprised how good it is! I bought a halved butternut squash at the grocery store, not even knowing what to do with it when I got it home. Searched this website & thought based on the other reviews, that this recipe must be pretty good. I too, roasted the squash, onion & garlic together. Such a great sweet taste! I did get impatient while roasting & took the squash out a little too early. It didn't puree as smooth as I would have liked. Used slightly less stock...I had really good turkey stock that was leftover from Xmas dinner; So I didn't even bother w/ the bouillon. I did add some evaporated milk for creaminess & a touch of cream cheese just out of curiosity. Omitted the allspice, but did add a pinch of curry instead. This is such a versatile recipe, you really can add what you like & make it your own. I definitely will make again. I'm even considering adding some butternut squash to my garden next year :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States