Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Wonderful! Didn't change a thing -- didn't have to. The kids aren't used to not having to chew their soup, so I browned panko breadcrmbs with bacon bits as a topper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Great recipe. I had an extra turnip and threw that in. The turnip really added a nice kick to the flavor especially since I made it without butter or chicken boullon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very good. I used a bit less chicken stock bc I used less squash, but this is so easy and definitely worth the time. I think I went a bit over board with the thyme, but it still tasted good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This soup seemed a little thin to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peggytate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I've gotten rave reviews on this soup -- I double the spices (using the equivalent of 1 cube of boullion - chicken or vegetable) 1/2 tsp group cumin and 1/2 tsp ground allspice. It is also good made with beef broth - somewhat darker flavor. The fresh thyme is a must ! But aside from preparing the squash (which takes a LONG time) this is a quick, easy, and wonderful-tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
As written I felt the soup was missing something, but with some tender loving care I was able to bring it up to par...that was weeks ago already, however, so I can't remember what I did to "fix" it! It was definitely improved the following day, and I froze a small portion to use as a base for risotto in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Pretty good, be careful not to add too much pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Yum! This soup came out great. It's a simple recipe with a lot of flavor. I added a little bit of cinnamon, and the combination of spices was perfect. I also, like other reviewers have said, roasted the butternut squash first to bring out the flavor, and stirred in some half-and-half after it was blended. The finished product was fantastic! I shared the leftover soup with some friends, and it got rave reviews :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Excellent! This was the first time I ever made butternut squash soup, and it was simple and delicious! I skipped a few ingredients like the onion and allspice (substituting ginger and a bit of cinnamon) because I did not have them at the moment, but the soup still came out perfectly. Thanks for sharing! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by invierno_eterno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This recipe is so easy and delicious! My squash was roasted and I used a bit if curry powder as I don't like cumin or allspice...both hubby and I LOVED it. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States