Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was a great recipe!! I had a leftover 1/2 large roasted butternut squash and used potatoes and carrots leftover from a roast I had cooked in the crock pot. I read reviews and took the tip to add half the amount of chicken stalk and milk for the rest. I boiled onion and celerly on stovetop with a bit of butter, the chicken stalk, bouillon and tyme. Great and EASY recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is the first time I have ever made butternut squash soup and it turned out excellent! I love how savory and sweet this recipe is, even my mother-in-law loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This really is the best butternut squash soup EVER. I never have thyme on hand, so I switched it out for a jalapeno, which I sauteed with the onions and garlic. I also doubled everything except the stock, which produced a great, thick consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Really simple to make and yummy to eat. I was a bit leery about allspice and cumin but it was great. I took a shortcut and used cubed butternut squash from Costco - I find cutting squash to be extremely hazardous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Just made this soup, as one review mentioned I would use more squash next time, as we all know squash vary in dryness, mine was wet so the soup was too watery. Drier squash would make a drier soup. Flavor was great, the recipe simplistic for me that's what great cooking is all about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Very easy and very tasty. I cut the squash in chunks, tossed in 2 tbsp oil, salt and pepper (to taste) then roasted it for 15 minutes at 400 degrees. I cooked the garlic and oinion in butter and oil. I added the squash and stock and brought it to a boil, reduced the heat and cooked for about 20 minutes. I did not use the bouillon. I used an immersion blender to puree the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Wow, this really is delicious...I truly am surprised how good it is! I bought a halved butternut squash at the grocery store, not even knowing what to do with it when I got it home. Searched this website & thought based on the other reviews, that this recipe must be pretty good. I too, roasted the squash, onion & garlic together. Such a great sweet taste! I did get impatient while roasting & took the squash out a little too early. It didn't puree as smooth as I would have liked. Used slightly less stock...I had really good turkey stock that was leftover from Xmas dinner; So I didn't even bother w/ the bouillon. I did add some evaporated milk for creaminess & a touch of cream cheese just out of curiosity. Omitted the allspice, but did add a pinch of curry instead. This is such a versatile recipe, you really can add what you like & make it your own. I definitely will make again. I'm even considering adding some butternut squash to my garden next year :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I love this recipe. It is simple, easy, healthy and I don't have to run to the store for some weird ingredient. I always double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I did take the advice of other reviewers and first baked the butternut squash (cut in half, removed seeds, salted and peppered cut side, pricked skin and oiled pan and skin - placed on cookie sheet in 350 degree oven for 45 minutes - removed and let cool), and then scooped out squash and added to pan with butter, onion, garlic, thyme and chicken stock mixture for about 10 minutes. I then added the cumin, allspice and salt and pepper. I let this sit until the rest of the meal was ready and then warmed again and put in blender just prior to serving (I ended up straining out some of the liquid to get soup to the proper consistency. I put a dollop of sour cream in center when serving. This was well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I liked this, but only after I added extra cummin to the recipe. John did not like it at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Iola, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States