Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Following the advice of another cook, I roasted the butternut squash in the oven for about an hour at 400 and just poked holes in it. After it was roasted, I sliced it in half lengthwise, removed the seeds and cubed the squash. I let it cool and refrigerated it. The next day, I used my already cooked and cubed squash in the recipe and followed the recipe using homemade chicken stock rather than canned broth. This recipe was just right for a nice healthy soup that is filling and tasty!!! Thanks for sharing! I did use the whole butternut squash as I like my soup a little thicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Great and easy. I used Vietnamese vegetarian soup base instead of chicken broth. Also used Bestlife olive oil spread instead of butter. Worked great. For mine twist adding salt and fresh pepper brought out the flavor nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Really good - love that you don't have to use any cream if you don't want to. I put a dollop of sour cream in. I think 4 cups is too much broth. I used about a whole squash - half was already roasted, the other half was cubed. And with 4 cups, it was not quite as thick as I would have liked, but still good. I also added some sauteed turkey sausage and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This recipe is very good, but I combined it with Emeril's recipe'....fantastic! Try saute'ing the veggies until lightly browned; substitue the allspice with nutmeg and just a pinch or two of ginger (hold back a bit on the nutmeg) and as one person also suggested, add some cream. For a kick add Jalepino's if you like warm to hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this pretty much as written, except that I used a whole squash since it was pretty small. The only other change I made was to add a dash of ginger. I did have to simmer the squash for about 25 minutes until it was tender, though. I think the taste and the texture are perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Loved this! Delicious and healthy. It was thiner than I expected. I can adjust because I will definitlely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrandiChristine
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I hate soup....but I absolutely love this recipe!! I omitted the allspice and added about half a cup of half and half and a few tablespoons of honey and it gives it an amazing taste!! Best soup ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandiChristine

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Didnt have celery and added a pinch of allspice at the end was really yummy! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great recipe! I am on a Peleo diet and this works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I made this soup and my husband loved it! He requests it every winter when butternut squash is in season. And I love it too. I sub in 4 strips of turkey bacon to reduce the fat. The topping of sour cream with bis of bacon really enhances the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States