Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Wow! This soup lives up to it's name! I used extra virgin cold pressed coconut oil instead of butter, dried thyme instead of fresh, and added one stock of chopped up lemon grass. WOW!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Awesome, I increased all of the spices and added about 1 tsp of med curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Always wanted to try a creamy butternut soup recipe. This was interestingly delicious, though not what I expected. Flavors complex and atypical. Low fat, too. Took the advice of other reviewers and roasted the cubed squash first. I also substituted a scant tsp. of dry thyme leaves and added a generous dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is a good base soup. You just need to add ingredients to your liking. I put more cumin, allspice, and garlic and added Italian Seasoning, apples, 1/2 & 1/2 and a little bit of cornstarch to thicken it. A very good soup, though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I used vegetable broth instead of chicken and cut out the allspice since i didn't have it on hand. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Way too much butter. I think next time I'll just saute in a little olive oil. Other than that - delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSFROSTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
an easy 5 STARS i used a whole squash cut in half seasoned and roasted. i also added a little cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit and about a cup of 10% cream. I didn't have thyme but I wish i had i think that if its even possible it may have made it better. I also topped each bowl of the soup with a dollop of sour cream. Thanx for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Fabulous! I roasted my squash in the oven (drizzled with EVOO and threw on some extra garlic cloves) first. I also added some red pepper flakes to give it some heat when adding in the cumin. I had to use dried thyme since I didn't have any fresh sprigs but it worked out just fine. If the soup isn't quite thick enough, you can add a bit of cream to thicken it up. A keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
yum! This was great on a cold day! I'll keep this one on had and try to make it more...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was my first time ever eating butternut squash. I followed the recipe for the most part, although I did add allspice or chicken bouillon(didn't have any) It was fantastic! I really like that its a dairy free version too! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Unionjack

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States