Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
So, I've never had butternut squash soup before, let alone cooked it myself, but I had half a squash and all the rest of the ingredients on hand, so I thought I'd give it a whirl. I'm glad I did because this is a very good soup. I didn't have fresh thyme, so I used about 1/2 tsp. dried. With my first couple of sips I thought it was maybe too much thyme, but as I continued to eat it, I enjoyed it more and more! I love the hints of allspice and cumin. They aren't overpowering, but complimenting. I would recommend using paper towels to hold the blender cover on, unless you want soup all over your dish towel. I had a delicious lunch with this soup and a toasted sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The best ever. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
NOT Best!!!! OK if you've got all ingredients to hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Tasty! I used dry thyme and a whole (but smallish) butternut squash. Added some chardonnay to the mix. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Oh my goodness! This soup was amazing! I will definitely be making this again! This was my first try at making a butternut soup, and I don't know if I'm going to make it past this recipe to try others. I followed the recipe as is, with the exception that I added only about half the chicken stock. Seemed like it would be too thin if I added the full amount. That, and I added way more than a pinch of cumin and allspice, since I absolutely love those spices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Awesome! Better than I expected. I used 20 oz worth of peeled and cut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
So delicious, low cal,and dairy free! I didn't have fresh thyme or cumin, so I substituted dried thyme and chili power. It really thickened out nice after about 5 minutes of sitting. Will definitely become a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Was popular at Thanksgiving but a bit rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Good soup, but I didn't get enough of the squash taste I was looking for. I roasted an entire squash in the oven to bring out the natural sweetness. The fresh thyme really is a must, BUT (don't get mad at me people!) I think this may be the only soup I know that could use less or NO onion/garlic. Squash is so beautiful and the flavor so delicate that it might be better standing alone. But, the bf LOVED the recipe as is and says to tell everyone the garlic is delicious in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Wow! This soup lives up to it's name! I used extra virgin cold pressed coconut oil instead of butter, dried thyme instead of fresh, and added one stock of chopped up lemon grass. WOW!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States