Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Tasty! I used dry thyme and a whole (but smallish) butternut squash. Added some chardonnay to the mix. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Oh my goodness! This soup was amazing! I will definitely be making this again! This was my first try at making a butternut soup, and I don't know if I'm going to make it past this recipe to try others. I followed the recipe as is, with the exception that I added only about half the chicken stock. Seemed like it would be too thin if I added the full amount. That, and I added way more than a pinch of cumin and allspice, since I absolutely love those spices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Awesome! Better than I expected. I used 20 oz worth of peeled and cut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
So delicious, low cal,and dairy free! I didn't have fresh thyme or cumin, so I substituted dried thyme and chili power. It really thickened out nice after about 5 minutes of sitting. Will definitely become a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Was popular at Thanksgiving but a bit rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Good soup, but I didn't get enough of the squash taste I was looking for. I roasted an entire squash in the oven to bring out the natural sweetness. The fresh thyme really is a must, BUT (don't get mad at me people!) I think this may be the only soup I know that could use less or NO onion/garlic. Squash is so beautiful and the flavor so delicate that it might be better standing alone. But, the bf LOVED the recipe as is and says to tell everyone the garlic is delicious in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Wow! This soup lives up to it's name! I used extra virgin cold pressed coconut oil instead of butter, dried thyme instead of fresh, and added one stock of chopped up lemon grass. WOW!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Awesome, I increased all of the spices and added about 1 tsp of med curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Always wanted to try a creamy butternut soup recipe. This was interestingly delicious, though not what I expected. Flavors complex and atypical. Low fat, too. Took the advice of other reviewers and roasted the cubed squash first. I also substituted a scant tsp. of dry thyme leaves and added a generous dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is a good base soup. You just need to add ingredients to your liking. I put more cumin, allspice, and garlic and added Italian Seasoning, apples, 1/2 & 1/2 and a little bit of cornstarch to thicken it. A very good soup, though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States