Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This soup was awesome! I did not have any Thyme, I used an entire squash (which I roasted first to bring out flavor and ease of peeling), added an apple and 1 can of evaporated milk. It got rave reviews from my guest - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurelinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Really very tasty! I followed the recipe exactly but added a few changes like others suggested... I added 1/2 c half and half before pureeing and i topped it off with bacon and a touch of sour cream. I couldn't believe I made it! Flavorful and easy for the new soup makers such as myself. Definitely a keeper and worth trying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Perfect use of leftover frozen squash. I broiled the cubed squash them a little in the oven before cooking them. Since I didn't have Allspice, I used cinnamon & nutmeg instead. Still turned out delicious without the thyme. Will definitely keep this recipe in our binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This soup was terrific. I used 3 small butternut squash, cut in half, roasted in oven at 450 for 45 minutes. Scooped out squash, refrigerated until I made the soup, the next day. The only other change I made was to add half of a diced jalepeno pepper to the onion, garlic mixture. Perfect combination of spicy/sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Excellent. I'd rather peel the squash first for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Even without using all of the broth, there was too much liquid. The flavor wasn't bad, and the low calories are nice, but I wouldn't bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed this great recipe! Prepared it tonight and roasted the squash as recommended by Airisaiia and it was simply outstanding. Kudos to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alain & Louise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Kent, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
So, I've never had butternut squash soup before, let alone cooked it myself, but I had half a squash and all the rest of the ingredients on hand, so I thought I'd give it a whirl. I'm glad I did because this is a very good soup. I didn't have fresh thyme, so I used about 1/2 tsp. dried. With my first couple of sips I thought it was maybe too much thyme, but as I continued to eat it, I enjoyed it more and more! I love the hints of allspice and cumin. They aren't overpowering, but complimenting. I would recommend using paper towels to hold the blender cover on, unless you want soup all over your dish towel. I had a delicious lunch with this soup and a toasted sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The best ever. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
NOT Best!!!! OK if you've got all ingredients to hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States