Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This makes a delicious soup. I doubled the recipe and for the second serving added cream for a nice change. I can't get allspice here, so added fennel instead. Also, there is no need to peel the squash - a terribly fiddly process - as the skin dissolves and actually adds a nuttiness to the flavour. We've had this a few times and it's now a favourite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheffield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This is an easy soup to make, and delicious also. I added more cumin, and garlic. I make a large batch and freeze it in quart size ziploc bags. It is easy to warm and eat with sandwiches made with wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
anyone finding it a little stocky should try substituting half the amount of stock with coconut milk, which adds a creamy texture and goes well with the small red chilli that I also added, which I just can't physically cook any soup without :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
So good! I was looking for a lowfat version of butternut squash soup, and even when I doubled the butter to 3 tbsp, it still worked out to 3g of fat per cup. I used an entire 5lb squash as I wanted a thicker soup, and upped the seasoning to 3/4 tsp of the allspice and cumin, as well as a dash of nutmeg. I served with some lowfat sour cream on top. Even my pickypants fiance loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Ever since the first time I made this I've been making it again and again. The only thing I do differently is I roast the squash ahead with the seeds, scoop it out and use it from the freezer (thawed first). Add a dollop of yogurt and a pinch or so of Garam Masala seasoning and it's just out of this world. I like a little sweetness to it, so I also add some sweetener to it (just for me at the table). Oh and I also like a spice to it so "Slap Yo Mamma" spice is also great in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
DELICIOUS! Loved it! Had it on christmas before dinner. WOnderful. Did 3 cup sof lowfat loww sodium chickenbroth and after using a hand blender added 1 cup heavy cream. Super easy, big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is the first time I've ever tasted butternut squash. I added a little half n half as one of the reviewers suggested and used dried thyme instead of fresh. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This soup was excellent and easy. I also used the whole butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Been trying to find foods that are healthy and that the kids will eat. Tried this exactly as written and the whole family devoured it. My husband insisted there was heavy cream in it... which makes me think it doesn't need it. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
fabulous flavor-I recommend using the cream as others have suggested. Also added nutmeg and cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States