Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Ever since the first time I made this I've been making it again and again. The only thing I do differently is I roast the squash ahead with the seeds, scoop it out and use it from the freezer (thawed first). Add a dollop of yogurt and a pinch or so of Garam Masala seasoning and it's just out of this world. I like a little sweetness to it, so I also add some sweetener to it (just for me at the table). Oh and I also like a spice to it so "Slap Yo Mamma" spice is also great in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
DELICIOUS! Loved it! Had it on christmas before dinner. WOnderful. Did 3 cup sof lowfat loww sodium chickenbroth and after using a hand blender added 1 cup heavy cream. Super easy, big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is the first time I've ever tasted butternut squash. I added a little half n half as one of the reviewers suggested and used dried thyme instead of fresh. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This soup was excellent and easy. I also used the whole butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Been trying to find foods that are healthy and that the kids will eat. Tried this exactly as written and the whole family devoured it. My husband insisted there was heavy cream in it... which makes me think it doesn't need it. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
fabulous flavor-I recommend using the cream as others have suggested. Also added nutmeg and cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Home run of a recipe. I followed the modifications suggested by one of the commenters to peel and cube the squash, then roast under the broiler for 10 minutes (stirring once after 5 mins). I also added about a cup of celery to the garlic and onion sautee. I used half vegetable broth and half chicken broth. Wonderful flavor. I will definitely make this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This has become a staple in my house. Have tried it both with and without added an apple - delicious both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The flavors of this recipe compliment each other wonderfully! My dinner party group raved about this dish! It is one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This soup was awesome! I did not have any Thyme, I used an entire squash (which I roasted first to bring out flavor and ease of peeling), added an apple and 1 can of evaporated milk. It got rave reviews from my guest - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurelinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States