Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
To this I added a dash of curry powder, a dash of cumin, a dash of cayenne, salt and pepper. Also, added a little garlic to the boiling veggies. Topped with a dollop of fat-free sour cream and this was delicious!!! lol, ok, the kids were not thrilled with this but ate it (especially the youngest noticed I put a vegetable or two too many, lol) but the husband was literally licking his bowl and moaning in pleasure with every bite. I think over all, this deserves a major thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
very good and easy to make. I only use half the water and add a can of coconut milk to make it creamy. A little cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Not a huge fan of butternut squash soup, but this is a pretty good recipe. If I ever make it again, I will use this recipe. So easy and has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Wonderful warming soup! And simple to make, I always save the broth when I boil chicken, turkey, etc. I cool it and remove the fat from the top and freeze in baggies. I used the broth from boiled chicken in the recipe, also I found that fresh Thyme can be frozen in the store package and is easily removed from the stem, again wonderful recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Wow...this was the first time I'd made a Squash Soup. I used a full butternut squash, left out the cumin and allspice (as I didnt have any) and it turned out great : ) Cant wait to take this to work for a warm lunch...uummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This makes a delicious soup. I doubled the recipe and for the second serving added cream for a nice change. I can't get allspice here, so added fennel instead. Also, there is no need to peel the squash - a terribly fiddly process - as the skin dissolves and actually adds a nuttiness to the flavour. We've had this a few times and it's now a favourite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheffield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This is an easy soup to make, and delicious also. I added more cumin, and garlic. I make a large batch and freeze it in quart size ziploc bags. It is easy to warm and eat with sandwiches made with wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
anyone finding it a little stocky should try substituting half the amount of stock with coconut milk, which adds a creamy texture and goes well with the small red chilli that I also added, which I just can't physically cook any soup without :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
So good! I was looking for a lowfat version of butternut squash soup, and even when I doubled the butter to 3 tbsp, it still worked out to 3g of fat per cup. I used an entire 5lb squash as I wanted a thicker soup, and upped the seasoning to 3/4 tsp of the allspice and cumin, as well as a dash of nutmeg. I served with some lowfat sour cream on top. Even my pickypants fiance loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States