Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This recipe made me love butternut squash. Baking the squash and adding the cream as others suggested added lots of flavor. I exchanged the allspice for curry powder and omitted the bouillon cube. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Had some frozen butternut squash, so decided to try this. It turned out well, a very flavorful soup I will be eating for lunch this week. Please heed the warning about not filling the blender too full. I did and had a mess on my hands, and my shirt, and my pants.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Rye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Very good. Added some nutmeg. EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is a delicious and amazing recipe! I make this soup often, especially when butternut squash is in its best season, fall and winter. Very versatile, I have tried making the soup thicker, and added more allspice or cumin at different times, I also enjoy garnishing the soup with chives. It always comes out great. The recipe has a perfect blend of spices that compliment the soup well! My husband loves it as well as my 2 year old daughter, and she is a super picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrganicGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made this soup today not quite knowing what to expect. WOW! In my opinion it is outstanding. Great soup for a cold winter day like today. I accompanied it with whole wheat pita sliced down the middle and toasted until crispy. Did not add butter, but you certainly could to enhance the toasted flavor. A great way to get the benefits of squash in a tasty dish. Liked it so much that next time I will double the recipe. Baking the other half of the butternut with apples and pears using another recipe from this site, as I complete this review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Gotta give it five stars. This is my "go to" recipe for Butternut Squash Soup. I do add a bit more cumin because I just love the flavor. Fresh thyme is a must. Cream is unnecessary, but I usually add a drizzle at the end because it just tastes soooo good. The first half a dozen times I made this, I followed what others said to do and I roasted the squash. The last time I made it, I was pressed for time, so I just followed the recipe exactly - and that's what made me realize...no need to take an hour out of your day to roast the squash. I really couldn't figure out the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wiehl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Pretty good. Can't complain for the first time. But I truly believe if you make it word for word you won't be disappointed. But I do agree about roasting the squash first and it wouldn't hurt to use more than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The original recipe for this soup is a bit bland. To make thicken the soup we used less water/broth, and to make the flavour more dynamic we added finely crushed almonds; what a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I've made this soup abt 10 times each winter, for 2 winters in a row! I always double the squash & add abt 1/2 cup more broth. I always roast my squash in the oven, drizzled w extra virgen olive oil & minced garlic. I add abt 1/2 cup of heavy cream at the end as well. It's so good, I have my mother in law leaving me cut up squash in my fridge as a hint!! I will always use this recipe!! Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is a good base. I doubled the amount of squash and added chili powder, cayenne pepper and Tony Chachere's seasoning. I was trying to replicate a "spicy squash soup" I had at a restaurant and I would say...mission accomplished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States