Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
The way I made it was love! 3lbs butternut squash (about 1.5c= 2 squashes), 2.5c chicken broth, .5c whipping cream, about .75tsp curry powder instead of thyme, cumin and allspice. I know it isn't the same recipe, but this gave me the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this and originally did not use the cumin. I did end up adding it and I don't care for it. I thought it was pretty good before the cumin (which I love) I just don't think it should have been added. My husband thought it was really good and even the daughter liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by Cliff G
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I give this four stars because I am sure it at least deserves that. I did make some changes on how I made my soup but it was this recipe that got me started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very, very good. I added fresh sage and rosemary as well as thyme, and added carrots and celery to the aromatics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was a straight-forward soup that was simple to make with standard pantry items. I didn’t bother with adding the chicken bouillon because I used my home-made chicken broth which is very flavorful. I snuck in a few tablespoons of cream just to add a little creamy richness. This soup didn’t have a lot of complexity of flavor, but was very satisfying and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Doubled the butternut squash, added curry and finished with light coconut milk. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
WOW! The title doesn't lie - this soup is wonderful! Hubby and I both had 3 bowls. I tried one bowl with some sour cream, and it was amazing! I also added a pinch of cinnamon to the pot at the suggestion of one of the reviews. Hubby said he wasn't sure about the cinnamon, so he added a little more salt to his servings. It was SO satisfying, no matter how we doctored it with each serving, or even if we didn't. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was delicious. I love blending soups to make them creamy. This one had the right richness and sweetness mixture to it that it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Tried this soup. . .and it is a definite Winner! However I put my own lil spin on it. I used some Canadian back bacon, chopped it into small pieces, and cooked the onion, garlic, (I added a shallot) , and curry powder in the pan. . .once that was done I followed the recipe pretty much as it was, However, I added some green herbs to the soup as well as subs. the allspice with nutmeg. :-) Try it, ya won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ Crocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Port Hope Simpson, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
LOVE IT. I just love how fast this dish is. I grabbed a big clamshell of pre-cut squash from CostCo yesterday, used Chicken "Better than Boullion" in my fridge, and followed the recipe pretty closely. My tweaks were just because of what I had on had. Added a leek, did 3 pinches of cumin. SO YUMMY and a huge pot for around $6. Yay for freezing leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States