Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Loved this recipe! I used about 3/4 of a whole butternut squash instead of 1/2. I added 1/2 a Granny Smith apple when I added the squash to boil. Also added whole milk when I was blending it. Very good! I served with a fresh fall salad with craisins, 1 Granny Smith apple cut up, slivered honey almonds, & feta cheese with a poppyseed dressing. It complimented the soup very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
OMG! I've never even eaten butternut squash and decided to try this with 1/2 a squash and the other half roasted with potatoes as a side for dinner....AMAZING! I kind of winged it a bit as far as proportions and wish I made more. I added a bay leaf while I simmered the final product and a dash of cayenne and the sweet and spicy was perfect for us. Thank you so much for turning me on to this flavorful squash:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
quick, easy, and deliciou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Very good soup! The first time I made it per the recipe with the exception of the cumin (I just don't like cumin) and it was a hit. Since then, I have been adding a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes and about an eighth of a cup of diced celery to the pan while cooking the onion and it's incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Really liked it! My tweaks were simply because I used what I had on hand... did not use a bullion cube, only used 2.5-ish cups of chicken stock, added couple of shakes of kosher salt, and simmered for 30-40 minutes. Then added the spices ( more allspice, less cumin,and a tad of ground peper and 2 shakes kosher salt) and then added 1/2 -ish cup of heavy cream. Removed from heat and used my new Cuisinart hand blender.. and voila! Absolutely perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Fabulous soup! WIshed I had at least doubled it! Used dried Thyme (about 2 tsp), a dash of roasted coriander and at least 1 tsp of cumin. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I've tried several different recipes, this is by far the best! It does have the deep flavor, but not overly rich like some I've made. Like everyone else, I tweaked it a little: roasted the squash, added 1/2 apple, some cayenne for kick, and 1/2 cup sour cream at the puree stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Delicious! The only thing I changed was to double the recipe and add 1/4 cream. Next time I'll roast the squash instead of boiling it and I'll use 1/2 the recommended chicken stock b/c I like a thicker soup. Great starter recipe. There are endless yummy ways to tweak this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
My man and I loved this soup! We're on a diet and this was a nice variety to add! We used half an onion, a whole butternut squash from Whole Foods, 4 cups of chicken broth (it was on sale), and the spices I added instead were: vegetable bouillion cube (instead of chicken), hot madras curry, cumin, salt and pepper, cinnamon, vanilla soymilk and some brown sugar. I like a mixture of sweet and savory flavors in my butternut squash soup and it turned out great! Will use 3 and a half cups of chicken broth next time, though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Doubled the recipe. This soup is thin. Not thick, which is fine for me but if you are expecting a rich thick soup keep looking for another version. I chose this for the low calorie count. It's very tasty. Not too sweet which is great!! I made this to pop individual servings into freezer for fast lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States