Best Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Salt? I noticed the recipe didn't call for salt, but I always follow a recipe exactly at least the first time. These are bland to say the least and the fat content is a little unnecessarily high. I'm disappointed. I suppose I will make something extra salty to serve with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Simple and works every time! I often make a quick batch to have with our salads at night or with soups or for breakfast cut in half with a piece or salami and egg on it before the kids head out to school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Most tender IF not overbaked:) I added a bit of sugar as I served with strawberries as the shortcake, YUM :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I was a little leary after looking at the ingredients list, and while I didn't have butter flavored crisco, I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup Crisco And still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatiana Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
'Made these & "Buttermilk Biscuits I". I liked the other ones better. These were okay, but need some tweaking to be better than that. The flour, shortening, buttermilk ratio seemed near perfect. Often, much more flour is required than the recipe states; but not this one. Nice change. These have a beautiful golden finish, btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Followed the recipe but they turned out hard and flat. Not sure if the dough shouldn't be kneaded so much or if I rolled them out too thin. Hmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This biscuits were delicious. I should have followed some reviews and brushed a little melted butter on them before baking but even without that they were yummy. Oh I also used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I substitute butter for shortening. I've gotten many rave requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
First biscuits I ever made and now I am the Biscuit Guru! Made some changes as per others here: 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening. Eliminated baking soda, pinch of salt and bigger pinch of sugar. Fabulous! Also cook them on a preheated pizza stone. To make'm cheesier: cup of grated cheese, teaspoon dry mustard, pinch cayenne. Oooh baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made these Christmas morning and they tasted great. I have never made biscuits before and these were not hard to make. I did use too small of a biscuit cutter and the biscuits were about the size of an Oreo cookie. Even though they were small they rose perfectly and were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States