Best Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I've been using this site for many years without registering; I registered JUST to review these biscuits. They are fantastic! Followed recipe exactly 3 times so far and they come perfect every time. Thanks for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I brushed each biscuit with melted butter before baking them in the oven. One of the BEST biscuits I've ever made. Light, fluffy and absolutely delicious. We ate every single one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
These are very very good. There were no leftovers after dinner. Something is missing though, and I can't figure out what it is. The texture of these biscuits is amazing, and they are very quick and easy to make. I will definitely make these again. Update: I figured it out. It needed less shortening and instead some good old butter. Now they are fully five star worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
For only four ingredients, these are terrific! I probably should've made them a little bigger, but they rolled out perfectly, and the dough was very easy to work with. They have a little crispiness on the outside, but the insides are like little soft pillows of goodness. Thanks for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I don't make biscuits often, tho' curiously I've made them twice this week. Both these and Kentucky Biscuits, also from this site, were winners. Tender, fluffy and light, these are equally as good warm with butter as they are without. This recipe, unlike the other, did not call for any sugar - I didn't miss it, so why add it? Rather than shortening I used cold butter from the fridge and grated it into the flour with a box grater. That made quick work of blending it! I do have self-rising flour, but I was too lazy to dig it out from the pantry. A cup of all-purpose flour mixed with 1-1/2 tsp. baking powder and 1/4 tsp. salt did the trick. I did NOT knead for two minutes - just a few turns is what I did, because I did not want to overwork the dough. I swear, THAT and buttermilk, are the secrets to a fine biscuit! Once again, I regrettably only made a half recipe. Thankfully, another half recipe can be mixed up in a jiffy! Note: I was also too lazy to dig out my rolling pin and roll them out. Patting the dough out with my fingers seemed to work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I'm not a big fan of biscuits, but let me tell you these are AMAZING! I followed the recipe,but I followed another reviewers tip and added melted butter to the tops before I baked them. Try this biscuit recipe, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I followed many others and added a pinch of salt and sugar, and the baking soda. I also used butter, and a spray of spray butter on each before I baked them. The non biscuit eater boyfriend loved them as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I make strawberry shortcake with a biscuit shortcake. I've tried a lot od recipes, but this was the best I've found so far. I used softened butter instead of shortening and added a half cup of sugar so it would be sweet for shortcake. I cooked it in a pie plate on 375 for just under 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Really nice, light, fluffy biscuits. Used butter instead of shortening. Kind of small with doing 12, might do 6-8 instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Absolutely the best recipe for good ol' Southern buttermilk biscuits. I only knead the dough for about 30 seconds or so, though. I'm always wary of overworking it. These turn out perfectly fluffy, with exactly the right texture and flavor. Even my husband (who fancies himself quite the biscuit connoisseur) says they are amazing. Try this recipe- you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States