Best Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I don't make biscuits often, tho' curiously I've made them twice this week. Both these and Kentucky Biscuits, also from this site, were winners. Tender, fluffy and light, these are equally as good warm with butter as they are without. This recipe, unlike the other, did not call for any sugar - I didn't miss it, so why add it? Rather than shortening I used cold butter from the fridge and grated it into the flour with a box grater. That made quick work of blending it! I do have self-rising flour, but I was too lazy to dig it out from the pantry. A cup of all-purpose flour mixed with 1-1/2 tsp. baking powder and 1/4 tsp. salt did the trick. I did NOT knead for two minutes - just a few turns is what I did, because I did not want to overwork the dough. I swear, THAT and buttermilk, are the secrets to a fine biscuit! Once again, I regrettably only made a half recipe. Thankfully, another half recipe can be mixed up in a jiffy! Note: I was also too lazy to dig out my rolling pin and roll them out. Patting the dough out with my fingers seemed to work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
For only four ingredients, these are terrific! I probably should've made them a little bigger, but they rolled out perfectly, and the dough was very easy to work with. They have a little crispiness on the outside, but the insides are like little soft pillows of goodness. Thanks for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I brushed each biscuit with melted butter before baking them in the oven. One of the BEST biscuits I've ever made. Light, fluffy and absolutely delicious. We ate every single one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
These were very good! Super simple to make, rose beautifully and tasted great (mine were kinda ugly looking, but it didn't matter, lol). My only thing is that I think they could use a bit of salt, but that's my personal preference. I made my own self-rising flour and buttermilk, and that worked out nicely. I would def make these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I've been using this site for many years without registering; I registered JUST to review these biscuits. They are fantastic! Followed recipe exactly 3 times so far and they come perfect every time. Thanks for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Made as is these biscuits are good...BUT next time I'll skip the baking soda, add a pinch of salt and a bigger pinch of sugar AND use cold REAL butter in place of the shortening..OMG! Best biscuits ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The texture of the biscuits was nice, but they lacked flavor. I liked them enough to make them again, but will definitely add some salt and brush with melted butter before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
These are very very good. There were no leftovers after dinner. Something is missing though, and I can't figure out what it is. The texture of these biscuits is amazing, and they are very quick and easy to make. I will definitely make these again. Update: I figured it out. It needed less shortening and instead some good old butter. Now they are fully five star worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I substitute butter for shortening. I've gotten many rave requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
First biscuits I ever made and now I am the Biscuit Guru! Made some changes as per others here: 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening. Eliminated baking soda, pinch of salt and bigger pinch of sugar. Fabulous! Also cook them on a preheated pizza stone. To make'm cheesier: cup of grated cheese, teaspoon dry mustard, pinch cayenne. Oooh baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States