Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I've made this frosting several times now. When I take the time to beat the sugar and butter together until the sugar is dissolved, it is delicious. It takes a solid six minutes, or longer, though. I've also substituted half the butter for peanut butter and that has worked well for a peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
It doesn't form a ball like the recipe says, you have to make sure the flour/milk mixture gets really really thick while cooking it on low and make sure you constantly wisk it while it is cooking or you could get lumps. Even as it was cooling I stirred it a bit. Patience is key. If you are not patient it will not turn out good. If you are, this is an amazing frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I am giving this a 4 due to the inadequate directions. The recipe itself is GREAT! This is not a quick throw together recipe. If that is what you want go elsewhere. To maximize time I put the sugar and butter in my stand mixer (on high and let them blend while I cooked the flour and milk. (Both took aprox 15min.) I cooked the milk/flour at a low heat, slowly. The milk/flour did not form a ball, I just took it to a thick past. Tasting a small amount to be sure it was not "floury" before pulling it off the heat. While letting that cool, I returned to my butter/sugar. It had taken a noticable difference in look. I tested a small amount between my fingers. It was just a little gritty but mostly fluffy, I accurately assumed that the thickened milk and vanilla would take care of the rest. Once cooled I added the milk, then vanilla. The result was amazing! I would note that the type of milk you use will effect thickening time and would not recommend skim milk for this. You want the cream. When thickening you are essentially cooking out the water and leaving the milk fat(cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Kitchenaid stand mixer is the key. The hubby and kids loved the frosting.Very lite and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Patience is the key! It took me a super long time to make this but it was totally worth it. Whip the final product until it isn't grainy, even if it takes 25 minutes. I substituted it for cream cheese frosting on a carrot cake and it was so smooth and delicious that nobody could tell the difference. I go a little heavier on the vanilla flavoring as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
definatly not bad... I made this recipe because of not having powdered sugar in the house. and it didnt turn out grainy like i was worried. turned out very smooth and pretty good flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Picture Butte, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I have made this frosting so many times I lost count. It is sincerely the best frosting I have ever had. The first time I made it we almost did not have enough to frost the cupcakes because my husband and I kept eating it! This frosting is very light, so does not do well for decorating other then simple swirl on a cupcake or a shell along the bottom of a cake. I tried adding more flour with the milk and it does help make it a little stiffer and easier to use for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Great recipe, turned out perfect the first time...key to it...a Kitchenaid stand mixer!!! Just when you think you've mixed enough...MIX SOME MORE! That's what I did and it turned out GREAT! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apriljoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Masardis, Maine, USA
Living In: Carthage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is so easy to make and is creamy and rich, almost like custard. It isn't light and fluffy like buttercream made with powdered sugar (i indthat overly sweet and gritty like toothpaste) but I prefer it by far. Keys to making it: 1. While making the flour and milk mixture, you really do have to stir it (I use rubber spatula) THE ENTIRE TIME or else it seizes up and gets lumpy. And while stirring you'll notice that the change in consistency happens suddenly, and I take it gf the heat before it is a ball as you may burn the flour. 2. Definitely cool it, completely or else if too warm it can turn your buttercream to slurpy goop, has happened to me. Something scientific I presume. 3. After adding the mixtures together really beat it until all sugar granules disappear or else you'll get those granules between your teeth. 4. You can flavor it with lemon almond extract flavored vodkas rims etc, easy to color and stays nice and thick, looks great swirled onto cupcakes. I've made Halloween brain cakes, ice ream cone cupcakes, roses, and it does hold up. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
i thought it was really good tasting and not hard at all to follow! about the powdered suger, i read one review that said it was best to use granulated sugar on humid days and white sugar on other days. since i live in Brazil and now is rainy season i wanted to use powdered sugar but i didnt have a whole cup of powdered sugar so i used half and half and it worked out great!!! the flower and butter mixture i didnt have a problem but i didnt wait around for the "ball" so as not to burn the mix but i let it get creamy and thickand let it cool conserdably. my family loved it!!! -tastes great with my familie's now favorite black magic cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States