Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I double the vanilla, I use this frosting for my homemade Twinkie and Hoho filling, this is always a hit with people who complain frosting is too sweet, my husband loves it on my strawberry cake as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Jajam
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I have been making this as a frosting since 1969, when I came across it as a filling for a chocolate cake. Not only is it delicious and creamy, but uses remarkably little sugar and fat since the flour paste makes up for a cup of shortening. It must be cooked to a stiff paste, like mashed potatoes that have been put through the blender. I have not found it very useful for intricate piping work, but might use it for soft piping with a large tip. If you use granular sugar, beat it until no grit remains, 10-15 minutes with a stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is a recipe I have used since childhood. We used to call it "cooked" buttercream frosting versus the confectioners sugar/butter beaten buttercream frosting. It is light and fluffy, not cloying and sweet like supermarket frostings. It colors well, and can take on varying flavors like orange, vanilla, almond extract, etc. The flour-milk roux does not have to ball up (although I have had it do so), it merely needs to thicken and cool before adding to the sugar and butter. Whole-wheat flour doesn't work well, so forget about trying to be healthier. In lieu of all butter, my mother used to use half butter, half shortening, and it worked surprisingly well. I have used both confectioners and regular sugar, however,it is important that the regular sugar is creamed with the butter until it is no longer grainy. You can use Baker's or castor sugar (which is regular sugar ground up to be finer)or grind your regular sugar up a bit in your food processor. The cake should be at room temperature when served, or the frosting will taste stiff and greasy. Use it all, it is not great leftover for the same reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Amazing!!! The best I have ever made. Just take your time and it all will work out. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
BEST FROSTING EVER! At first, I was a little wary of this recipe; as I was cooking the milk and the flour, it wasn't thickening. But that is when I realized that the flour had sunk to the bottom and thickened into a paste which stuck to the bottom of the pan. But as I scraped that up, the milk thickened right away. It was disgusting looking and at that point I was 95% positive that I was NOT going to use this recipe. But boy was I wrong! After beating it with the butter and sugar mix it became fluffy and delicious. By far one of my top frosting favorites. It still has a buttercream flavor to it, but it is airy and less dense than traditional butter cream. I found that it worked really well with an almond flavoring. Definitively see this one through to the end. The recipe even made enough to generously decorate a three layer cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
it tasted OK, but it looked like rotten eggs! it was a big pile of mush! i couldn't get them to mix together well at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I posted this recipe and I am glad so many of you have tried it. It is certainly my favorite frosting. As a kid whenever my mother was making a cake this was the frosting that went on "Aunt Mary's Chocolate Cake", which I have posted also. I just wanted to add, after reading several reviews, I have never used powered (confectioners) sugar. All the years I have made this (and my mother before me) I have always used regular/granular sugar. The trick is to just beat the c**p out of it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Best Frosting Ever. I'm the type of person who usually scrapes all the frosting off of cakes and cupcakes because I just don't like most frostings. This recipe is the correct sweetness for me. It is more work than other recipes, but so worth it. I followed another reviewers advice and made a roux as the first step instead. That basically means I added a little butter to it. It's easy: Melt a little butter - (about the same amount as the flour, or even a little less), slowly add in the flour while you stir with whisk. This will kind of form a ball. Then SLOWLY add in the milk, while stirring constantly. I would describe the final state of the roux as slightly thicker than what you'd expect for a frosting. Then follow the recipe as described. Beating the sugar and butter together will take a good 15 minutes. But that's enough time for the roux to go down to a reasonable temp, so it's all good. I halved it and still had twice as much frosting as I needed to cover two dozen cupcakes. I threw the rest in the freezer. Not sure if that was a good idea or not. I'll find out later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
(1) Beat the sugar/butter mixture for 15min. (2) Cook milk & flour mixture on medium heat until it reaches "mashed potato consistency" approx. 15-20 min. As for the rest... stick to the recipe. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarahgee
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I was a little worried after reading the reviews, but I got this recipe my first time making it. All the reviews were really helpful. You have to stir the milk/flour mixture and heat it until it is like a thick paste, and then you have to beat everything on high with a hand mixer for at least ten minutes. I did fifteen and it was as light and creamy as a feather with no chunks (other than what you would usually see in buttercream). Very happy with this recipe, and that it did not need any obscure ingredients, just the basics! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States