Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is a recipe I have used since childhood. We used to call it "cooked" buttercream frosting versus the confectioners sugar/butter beaten buttercream frosting. It is light and fluffy, not cloying and sweet like supermarket frostings. It colors well, and can take on varying flavors like orange, vanilla, almond extract, etc. The flour-milk roux does not have to ball up (although I have had it do so), it merely needs to thicken and cool before adding to the sugar and butter. Whole-wheat flour doesn't work well, so forget about trying to be healthier. In lieu of all butter, my mother used to use half butter, half shortening, and it worked surprisingly well. I have used both confectioners and regular sugar, however,it is important that the regular sugar is creamed with the butter until it is no longer grainy. You can use Baker's or castor sugar (which is regular sugar ground up to be finer)or grind your regular sugar up a bit in your food processor. The cake should be at room temperature when served, or the frosting will taste stiff and greasy. Use it all, it is not great leftover for the same reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Amazing!!! The best I have ever made. Just take your time and it all will work out. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
BEST FROSTING EVER! At first, I was a little wary of this recipe; as I was cooking the milk and the flour, it wasn't thickening. But that is when I realized that the flour had sunk to the bottom and thickened into a paste which stuck to the bottom of the pan. But as I scraped that up, the milk thickened right away. It was disgusting looking and at that point I was 95% positive that I was NOT going to use this recipe. But boy was I wrong! After beating it with the butter and sugar mix it became fluffy and delicious. By far one of my top frosting favorites. It still has a buttercream flavor to it, but it is airy and less dense than traditional butter cream. I found that it worked really well with an almond flavoring. Definitively see this one through to the end. The recipe even made enough to generously decorate a three layer cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
it tasted OK, but it looked like rotten eggs! it was a big pile of mush! i couldn't get them to mix together well at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I posted this recipe and I am glad so many of you have tried it. It is certainly my favorite frosting. As a kid whenever my mother was making a cake this was the frosting that went on "Aunt Mary's Chocolate Cake", which I have posted also. I just wanted to add, after reading several reviews, I have never used powered (confectioners) sugar. All the years I have made this (and my mother before me) I have always used regular/granular sugar. The trick is to just beat the c**p out of it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Best Frosting Ever. I'm the type of person who usually scrapes all the frosting off of cakes and cupcakes because I just don't like most frostings. This recipe is the correct sweetness for me. It is more work than other recipes, but so worth it. I followed another reviewers advice and made a roux as the first step instead. That basically means I added a little butter to it. It's easy: Melt a little butter - (about the same amount as the flour, or even a little less), slowly add in the flour while you stir with whisk. This will kind of form a ball. Then SLOWLY add in the milk, while stirring constantly. I would describe the final state of the roux as slightly thicker than what you'd expect for a frosting. Then follow the recipe as described. Beating the sugar and butter together will take a good 15 minutes. But that's enough time for the roux to go down to a reasonable temp, so it's all good. I halved it and still had twice as much frosting as I needed to cover two dozen cupcakes. I threw the rest in the freezer. Not sure if that was a good idea or not. I'll find out later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
(1) Beat the sugar/butter mixture for 15min. (2) Cook milk & flour mixture on medium heat until it reaches "mashed potato consistency" approx. 15-20 min. As for the rest... stick to the recipe. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarahgee
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I was a little worried after reading the reviews, but I got this recipe my first time making it. All the reviews were really helpful. You have to stir the milk/flour mixture and heat it until it is like a thick paste, and then you have to beat everything on high with a hand mixer for at least ten minutes. I did fifteen and it was as light and creamy as a feather with no chunks (other than what you would usually see in buttercream). Very happy with this recipe, and that it did not need any obscure ingredients, just the basics! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
this frosting was good but not the mind blowing, life changing frosting everyone was talking about. It was not very sweet, I like that, and it had an amazing light and fluffy texture that was just yummy, but maybe it was in my vanilla extract that the frosting fell flat for me. It just did not pack that punch that would make this a go to frosting. I will make this again and use different flavor profiles to maybe kick it up some. Tip's: the first time making the flour and milk part the heat was on medium high. that is way to high. When I added the flour it thicken up right away, so there was no time to get that raw taste out of the mix. also cooling it all the way will make the flour milk lumpy when mixing. if this happens start over. it will not work to give you that nice fluffy smooth texture we are all looking for. how I combated this problem. one I warmed the milk on the lowest setting of my stove. then added the flour all at once. mixing the whole time. it wil thicken very fast even on low take off the burner. mix mix mix. then back to the low heat to cook out that nasty flour taste. note if it form's this ball it will be hard to get it smooth. mine was a smooth white roux kind of gummy in texture. cooled for about 15 min. beating it every five min so a skin could not form. Sorry for the long post and I hope this all helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I was short on ingredients so i substituted 1 cup of heavy cream for 1 cup of milk and used 2 sticks of margarine instead of butter and it turned out so creamy. I was in a hurry so i added the cream/flour mixture while it was still warm. It did ball up, i was stiring with a whisk and eventually it started to get thick and adhere to my whisk. when i added everything together i used my hand mixer on the highest setting until the granulated sugar was no longer granulated.this was delicious and the substitutes turned out perfect. This was my first time ever making homemade icing so i have faith that everyone can do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States