Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This frosting never fails to surprise me everytime I make it. This recipe calls for a lot of flour considering this is a frosting we're making here, however it tastes nothing like it! Has anyone ever tried to halve the butter though? I do this because of fear of making the frosting too buttery and I'm thankful for not daring myself into it because I think it tastes 10x better this way. It has a whip cream-like taste to it with a hint of butter, almost like whip cream from a can but with a texture that keeps its hold. I double the recipe and get a great amount of frosting. I'm really happy about discovering this recipe, it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I read the reviews, followed the instructions and it turned smooth and creamy! I like to cook, but am almost average.... but this recipe is GREAT! I don't understand why people have problems with this, maybe they rushed it? It did take some time and effort, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoshone, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
substitute 1 cup sugar for 3/4 icing sugar. put tbsp of flour on at a time, stirring on about medium heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I LOVED this recipe! It does take some "prep-time" but doesn't anything worth eating! I made the recipe as it is listed, granulated sugar and all, and it was not gritty, lumpy or "flour-y"! It isn't always the recipe rather the method of preparation; however, I did not allow the milk and flour to cool to room temperature rather spooned small amounts into the whipping butter and sugar (It looked like a thick, smooth pudding when I mixed the two)! Overall this is a very good recipe. (Be sure to use a good quality butter!) Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BodyLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I will never EVER use another buttercream frosting recipe again. Mine came out so light and fluffy. The flour/milk didn't necessarily make a ball, but it was certainly thick enough to make one...I mean if you really WANT a ball. Anyway, used regular sugar but put it in the food processor to make it a little finer. Used it several times, most recently for an informal wedding cake, and EVERYONE raved about it. Had to email the recipe to something like 25 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My Mom has been making this frosting for so long that I actually thought it was a "secret family recipe". Oh well. But the part that does seem to be secret? DO NOT USE POWDERED SUGAR, PEOPLE. And if you don't follow the recipe, and you get a crappy product, that is not the fault of the recipe and a reason to give something a 1-star rating. Made properly this really is the best frosting you'll ever taste. My criticisms of this recipe as written: flour + water (milk in this case) = lumps if not handled properly. Ever had lumpy gravy? That's why. Mix the flour and milk VERY WELL and VERY QUICKLY before cooking. I use an immersion blender and mine always comes out great. This mixture doesn't have to form a ball, as some have mentioned, but a thick paste. I let it sit out to cool while I made the other half of the recipe, not in the 'fridge. Either stir while it cools or press plastic wrap against the surface to avoid the "skin".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Keane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
It was "okay" but nothing special. I'll definitely be looking for something different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is AMAZING! I messed up the first time by not cooking the flour/milk enough, and also melting the butter... bad move... solid butter, and heat the milk/flour till it literally balls up like mashed potato looking consistency. make sure to beat the sugar butter combo allot too it helps. following the instructions for mixing is important on this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I have been making this frosting for. . . all my life. . .50 years!!! It was handed down to me from my Mom, who got this when she worked in a little bakery in Chicago during college. The flour is just supposed to thicken, not form a ball. Immediately put the pan in the refrigerator to cool it completely. When cool, add to your butter mixture. It is absolutely the best frosting ever, and anytime I make it, everyone wants the recipe!!! It will become one of your favorites, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I had high hopes from this recipe based on reviews. Everything came together just fine, although more time consuming and labor intensive than the usual butter-powdered sugar-milk-vanilla icing. We just did not care for this at all. It tastes like room temperature Cool Whip, void of any flavor or sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States