Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This was the lightest, fluffiest frosting I have ever eaten. Not too sweet. I used this for cupcakes for a friend's wedding and it got rave reviews! I took the advice of another reviewer and beat the flour mixture in for about 15 minutes on high in my KitchenAid. Turned out beautiful! For optimum flavor you really should make it the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami Austin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I tried this tonight after carefully reading reviews. Thought I wouldn't botch it up but i did somehow. I got the milk/flour thing down right but the end result was not a good consistency. I don't know if I over beat it at the end. Or the only other problem I think might have been the butter was not 100% rm temp. I did cream the butter & sugar for 20-25 min so it wasn't gritty. You can see the butter separating and it looks terrible! it still tasted ok. Any suggestions where I went wrong? I do want to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is the best frosting I've ever had. I have used this every time I need to impress people AND IT WORKS :) I have made this for my hospital parties, my daughters pre-school parties, superbowl..-this frosting is a hit with all ages! Don't make this frosting if you don't want people hounding you for the recipe. Its not gritty, to sweet or greasy and it doesn't leave your mouth feeling "coated" like a lot of shortening based frostings. I use a very very similar recipe from this website http://tastykitchen.com/blog/2010/03/a-tasty-recipe-thats-the-best-frosting-ive-ever-had/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I have never heard of this recipe called buttercream before. We grew up calling it long john frosting. My mom got it from a baker in Minnesota who used it as his filling in his eclairs and cream puffs, but my mom used it as frosting. The only difference was instead of 4 tablespoons our recipe calls for 8 tablespoons of flour so the mixture is a bit more stiff, and I beat the cooled flour mixture with the electric mixer before I blend the two mixtures. it makes a great substitute to cream cheese frosting on a Red Velvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I've looked for a super smooth and creamy frosting like this for a long time. Using superfine sugar is a very good tip, or else you have to beat it forever to get the coarser sugar to dissolve. If you use unsalted butter, add a pinch of salt; it needs it. Cook the milk and flour, stirring constantly, until you cannot stir down the boil. That will get rid of a flour taste and adds beautiful texture to the frosting. Have patience and follow directions. This frosting is a dream come true. NOTE: it does not "harden" nor develop an outer, drier layer. It stays very creamy and soft. Just perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I followed directions very carefully, and whipped my sugar/butter for 20+ minutes, and it was totally grainy still. I cooked the flour mixture low for about 20 minutes. went ahead and finished it, and it tasted just like flour. with a hint of sugar. i have made flour frosting before, but that one used the sugar cooked with the flour and it tasted better and texture was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I made this by forming a roux with about four tablespoons of butter and added an extra tablespoon of flour because it seemed too wet. I added the milk and it thickened up almost immediately. I let it cool, then mixed the butter with the sugar that I put in the food processor to make it finer. I didn't let the mixture cool enough, so it melted the butter and sugar mixture and I added vanilla extract. I put it in the freezer until thicker and cooled. I tasted it and it tasted very custard like, which was good, but not what I was looking for in a frosting. I was testing the frosting for another cake. I added a chocolate ganache and powdered sugar, because it wasn't sweet enough and it turned into a very good frosting. I want to give this recipe another try. I think I'll try by not forming a roux. I'm very disappointed because I had high hopes for this recipe. Does anyone have advice on how I can fix it? For now, I'm using a different buttercream for that cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
It tastes spectacular, but the texture was disgusting. Had I put the mixture in when it was still warm I think it would have turned out beautifully, but letting it cool to room temp is a HUGE mistake - you end up with a jiggly, solid rubber ball that will NOT blend into the butter/sugar mixture, no matter how long you beat it! So I'll probably try this again, tempering it instead of letting it cool. DON'T LEAVE IT TO COOL OFF...unless you like tapioca in your buttercream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmeliaBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
TAKE YOUR TIME!!! This is worth the wait. I have spent years looking for a great buttercream recipe, that's not too sweet. Use ultra fine sugar if you can, but this is a dream come true! So delicious, so creamy! You can't rush perfection...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This frosting never fails to surprise me everytime I make it. This recipe calls for a lot of flour considering this is a frosting we're making here, however it tastes nothing like it! Has anyone ever tried to halve the butter though? I do this because of fear of making the frosting too buttery and I'm thankful for not daring myself into it because I think it tastes 10x better this way. It has a whip cream-like taste to it with a hint of butter, almost like whip cream from a can but with a texture that keeps its hold. I double the recipe and get a great amount of frosting. I'm really happy about discovering this recipe, it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States