Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I chose to try this recipe based on a few of the great reviews. After all the time and work I put into this frosting it came out lumpy. The frosting taste was good but the consistency did not come out so well at all. It was almost like cottage cheese. I do not recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Ok let me start by saying after reading the reviews I went into this with major patience. I ended up with a hot mess in a bowl. Too sweet and despite beating it within an inch of the poor bowl's life it was still slightly gritty. Maybe next time I will try powdered sugar or a half and half mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe for the 1st time for my husbands 40th birthday cake and his first reaction was "wow this isn't store bought is it!" Thank you this was simple and delicious!!! Just take the time to really cream the butter and the sugar so it's fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This did not turn out at all. It did thicken eventually, but the flour mixture never became a ball, so after about twenty minutes I decided to stop cooking/whisking and let it cool to room temperature. Once added to the butter mixture it ended up full of lumps. A half hour in my stand mixture didn't help. I really didn't care for the flavor of this either. Sorry - I was really hoping for a back-up frosting for those days I run out of powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANMC4
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Have patience and this will pay off. Don't use powder sugar, don't worry about forming a ball, and cool to room temp. I followed the recipe after reading a lot of the reviews. The one thing I did do was to gradually add the flour mixture. I also added some extra vanilla extract. I also wisked the butter and sugar with my stand mixer for a LONG time! Adding the flour mixture while it is at room temp helps break down the sugar. Mine is still slightly gritty, but nothing I could complain about. Be patient and this recipe will pay off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe many years ago. It's the best because I am concerned about the amount of sugar used for frosting. This recipe is not too sweet. Everybody who have tried my buttercake with this buttercream loved it. It's the buttercream that made it so special. When I tried the recipe for the first time, the milk and flour mixture got tiny lumps so I had to throw it away and do it again. The subsequent tries went well. Patience and practice makes it easier and easier. Use the lowest fire on your burner. Keep stirring the milk and four mixture ALL THE TIME. Remove the pan from burner if the mixture starts to thicken but keep stirring. The heat in the mixture will continue to cook the starchy mixture. When the mixture is starchy enough (like the creamy peanut butter consistency), sit the pan in cold or room temperature water and let the starch mixture cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cristina
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I am not generally a fan of butter cream frosting, however it was necessary for this particular batch of holiday cupcakes. After reading the reviews I was curious as to how this would end up. I used buttermilk with the flour instead of milk because I had some left over from another project and needed to use it before it went bad. I cooked over low-medium heat and stirred it almost continuously with a small whisk. When it got a little thicker than gravy, I took it off the heat and continued to stir. I creamed the butter and sugar while cooking the milk and flour. When everything was about room temp it all went in the mixer. I want the milk mixture to soften the butter a little so I put it in not completely cooled but definitely not hot. I followed other reviews and let the mixer go for it. After about 15 min I taste tested and it was smooth. I should have let it go a little longer because even though I scraped the sides several times there were still one or two gritty spots. Clearly I was taste testing all the way through. I could not believe how good it was. I must say it was a success. Everyone commented on how good the frosting was. It had an almost complex cream cheese type flavor. I used vanilla extract so I assume it was the buttermilk that really punched up the flavor. It was formed enough to pipe unto cupcakes, but probably not stiff enough to do some serious creative cake decor like flowers etc. I bet that can be remedied with some tweaking here or there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I give this recipe a 5, but I DID make this change: I use 1/3 cup flour, mix it AND the sugar together, THEN add the milk and cook until thick. Cool and add vanilla and butter after. Excellent light and fluffy frosting, perfect for Waldorf Astoria cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by headoverfeet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I didn't see any reduction in grittiness until I combined flour mix with butter mix. The sugar never completely disolved. Followed instructions to the letter. I beat my sugar/butter for 20 min total. Beat flour/milk and butter mixture for 10 min. After all that I ended up adding cream and powdered sugar to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
My grandmother's recipe is almost the same, and it's AMAZING. Tips to make this work: 1. Use 5 Tbs of Flour 2. You need to cook that flour and milk until it's the consistency of brownie batter. I stir and stir and stir until it's difficult to stir anymore!!! 3. Beat the hell out of the butter and sugar until the sugar is barely recognizable anymore. I am talking kitchenaid med-high speed for about 8-10 minutes. Stop to scrape down every now and then. This is essential to get a smooth consistency and no crunchy sugar! And this is all before adding the vanilla. Make sure it's creamed properly before doing so. 4. Beat the entire thing together until it's fluffy. That means don't turn off the machine until you have fluffy wonderful creamy consistency of icing. It looks like it's separated in the beginning, it's okay, just keep mixing and mixing and mixing. I promise it will eventually all blend together!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States