Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Sarahgee
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I was a little worried after reading the reviews, but I got this recipe my first time making it. All the reviews were really helpful. You have to stir the milk/flour mixture and heat it until it is like a thick paste, and then you have to beat everything on high with a hand mixer for at least ten minutes. I did fifteen and it was as light and creamy as a feather with no chunks (other than what you would usually see in buttercream). Very happy with this recipe, and that it did not need any obscure ingredients, just the basics! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
this frosting was good but not the mind blowing, life changing frosting everyone was talking about. It was not very sweet, I like that, and it had an amazing light and fluffy texture that was just yummy, but maybe it was in my vanilla extract that the frosting fell flat for me. It just did not pack that punch that would make this a go to frosting. I will make this again and use different flavor profiles to maybe kick it up some. Tip's: the first time making the flour and milk part the heat was on medium high. that is way to high. When I added the flour it thicken up right away, so there was no time to get that raw taste out of the mix. also cooling it all the way will make the flour milk lumpy when mixing. if this happens start over. it will not work to give you that nice fluffy smooth texture we are all looking for. how I combated this problem. one I warmed the milk on the lowest setting of my stove. then added the flour all at once. mixing the whole time. it wil thicken very fast even on low take off the burner. mix mix mix. then back to the low heat to cook out that nasty flour taste. note if it form's this ball it will be hard to get it smooth. mine was a smooth white roux kind of gummy in texture. cooled for about 15 min. beating it every five min so a skin could not form. Sorry for the long post and I hope this all helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I was short on ingredients so i substituted 1 cup of heavy cream for 1 cup of milk and used 2 sticks of margarine instead of butter and it turned out so creamy. I was in a hurry so i added the cream/flour mixture while it was still warm. It did ball up, i was stiring with a whisk and eventually it started to get thick and adhere to my whisk. when i added everything together i used my hand mixer on the highest setting until the granulated sugar was no longer granulated.this was delicious and the substitutes turned out perfect. This was my first time ever making homemade icing so i have faith that everyone can do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by virgogirl9877
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
the first time i made this, it was not successful. i did not whisked the flour and milk enough that i couldn't remove the lumps on the flour. in the end, i could not pipe the frosting because of the lumps. i tried it the second time, making sure to whisk thoroughly the flour and the milk on the saucepan first before turning on the stove. you have to make sure that the flour was completely dissolved on the milk otherwise there would be lumps. be patient when mixing the flour/milk because eventually it would be sticky and would be glue like after a couple of mixing. you also have to cool it COMPLETELY, otherwise the butter/sugar will melt once you combine it. i always use this now when i bake cupcakes, not too sweet but creamy and delicious. definitely the best buttercream frosting for me(as of the moment).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virgogirl9877

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Imus, Cavite, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Surprised how this ended. I decided to make this since I didn't have confectionery sugar. I was nervous about making it since I didn't have an electric mixer but I managed to make it light an fluffy. The trick I found to the flour milk mixture was to cook it on high stirring constantly then stop stirring it for maybe 15-20 seconds. When I returned to stirring it thickened right up! Instead of a ball look for the mixture to be like cake batter or brownie batter consistency. Once it is thick remove from heat and cool. I then tackled the butter sugar whipping and after 20 minutes of beating on and off I thought it was as good as I could get it. By this time the flower mixture was cool. I mixed both together to find an amazing light fluffy concoction. This was a hit on my cupcakes and it made so much extra I have a container in my fridge that I like to eat from! :) YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have a soy allergy so I always make my own icing, and I will tell you, this really is the best icing. The recipe actually does work just the way it is, but there are a few tips that make it easier: -Read "white sugar" as "confectioner's sugar". I've done it both ways and granlated doesn't mess it up (and if you use fine it's not grainy either), but confectioner's sugar has a better level of sweetness in my opinion. -Make a roux, it's just easier. Melt 3 tablespoons out of your cup of butter, stir in the flour, cook a little, add milk. When the milk starts to boil and you stir, it WILL thicken, and if you keep stirring it WILL form a ball (in that it's going to kling to the spoon and come away from the sides of the pot, turning into a ball). Sometimes, if you use too much butter to do this, the texture can be a little off, which leads us to... -Oh no, I think I messed it up. If the dough ball has a funny texture or you accidentally blended them together while the dough ball was too hot, it's okay. If you think you messed up, mix it together anyway. Beat the hell out of it so that texture-wise it's smooth. Then chill it (I'm impatient, i pop it in the freezer). It's almost entirely butter, it will reharden. When it's more solid, beat it again until it's fluffy icing. You added a few steps, but you saved it, and I promise it tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I read most of the reviews before and after attempting this recipe so was prepared for the challenge to get it right. My flour/milk mixture got very thick and I allowed it to cool to room temperature. My butter/sugar mixture was very creamy. But when I mixed the two together, even after beating them for over a half hour the ingredients just kept separating. It never left the liquid state either even after sitting over an hour in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I give this recipe 5 starts! I needed a frosting recipe that did not require powdered sugar because I did not have any on hand. I must say that I am impressed with the way this turned out! (AND.. my husband loved it!) You need to beat your butter/sugar mixture for a very long time. If you have any graininess in your butter/sugar you need to beat it some more. Follow this recipe to a "T" and you'll have great tasting frosting! Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
It's really good. And really easy though I made the mistake of not reading all the directions beforehand - I was up very late waiting for everything to cool down. My mistake. This is my husbands new favourite - it's not too sweet and healthier than the recipes made with whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States