Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Tried this yesterday for my doll cake and it turned out soo good! Fluffy, light, and not so sweet, just perfect! FYI, I am still a novice in baking and decorating cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
seriously the best frosting ever!!! I really questioned whether this was going to work throughout the whole process. I blended the flour and milk in the bullet and then added it on the stove. I also used some heavy cream along with the milk...just because I had it. It did not take long at all to get to thick. Actually I forgot about it while I put the butter and sugar in my kitchenaid. It got thick a lot thicker than expected. The sugar did take a long time in the kitchenaid to melt. But not as long as some of the other reviews I read. Probably about 10 min. I also thought it did better on medium than high. I also added a 1/4 powdered sugar because I thought it was not going to be that sweet and I knew my cake was not that sweet. My flour milk/milk did get to a ball stage though I was not expecting it too. I added it to the sugar/butter with the sugar not completely dissolved and when it was just barely warm hoping the small amount of heat would melt the sugar...turned out just perfect. The most delicious creamy frosting ever!! (though I don't think I needed the extra 1/4 cup powdered sugar...should have trusted the process) I could not believe it. I've never made frosting by adding cooked milk and flour...but it definitely works...so much so that I had to submit a review. It takes some time but it's definitely worth it!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
AMAZING!!! One suggestion make sure you blend the flour mixture and sugar mixture for at leas t 10-15 minutes so sugar is dissolved. A tasty, light frosting will result!!! Oh, and the more vanilla, the better! I plan on adding a little pure vanilla bean next time around!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devine Dessert Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lbaldt
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I followed this Recipe fully... and I thought it was amazing... I usually buy these creme filled Donuts from a Bakery in my area... and I love the cream filling... the Baker told me it was just Butter Cream Frosting... When I tasted this icing recipe I was amazed at how much it tasted like the cream inside the Donuts... This is a keeper for sure...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbaldt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Good but took a long, long time to get the graininess out. I whipped the sugar and butter for 45 minutes on high in my Kitchen Aid and then added the flour/milk mix. That only needed a minute to mix. I do not like confectioners sugar, too sweet for me so I am pleased with this recipe but it does take time and patience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is a very old recipe, used by my grandmother and great grandmother exactly as written here. The milk/flour once it reaches a boil begins to thicken and looks like kids paste-that's what you're going for, then COOL it thoroughly. The recipe is for REGULAR sugar not confectioners sugar and to use confectioners sugar does not work properly. Once the 'paste' is cooled cream together the butter and white sugar well before combining the two mixtures. Then let it beat on stand mixer at least 10 minutes. It is the best frosting ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I felt like a real gourmet! The flavor was fantastic. The texture really comes together. Read the reviews & follow the directions. Be patient. I was a little skeptical, but it worked great. One reviewer gave a temperature reading that was helpful for cooling the flour/milk mixture - 85 degrees. I also made sure I stirred the mixture as it cooled. I beat the butter and sugar for a good while (watched Downton Abbey finale) as the flour/milk cooled. The recipe as listed made enough to frost a 2 layer, 9" round cake with a bit left over. I paired the frosting with Heavenly White Cake submitted by Carol on Allrecipes.com Love this site & the reviews - so helpful for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This recipe, to tell you the truth, disappointed me. From all the good reviews and the amazing pictures, I imagined a much, well, better, frosting. The texture was very strange, and it was kind of tasteless. To fix this I added more vanilla than the recipe called for. This recipe should also add steps saying what it looks like at each stage. I wasn't sure if I was doing it right, even though I followed the recipe very thoroughly. Even though I am disappointed with this recipe, the final result wasn't as bad as I thought it would be... hence the extra vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is the best frosting in the world and I have made it 40 to 60 times by now. Whoever made this recipe was brilliant. I do not understand why everyone says to use powdered sugar? Most likely because home bakers can't think outside of the box and feel the need to "tweak" every recipe with "their secret". If you like generic nasty frosting then use powdered sugar. If you want a very smooth, mellow, flavorful frosting then use granulated. People are absolutely stunned by the frosting and it is so easy to flavor with anything. I will say you have to be patient and let the milk/flour transform into a very thick ball like substance (so thick it "balls up like dough". It will start pulling away from the pan like bread does when you have added enough flour. Add extra flour if it is being temperamental and not pulling together. You also have to beat the frosting a long time to get the sugar to dissolve. Keep feeling the texture between your figures. When the grit is gone the frosting is done. Over beat and the fat will separate out and you will end up with greasy and runny frosting. This is not a stand mixer friendly frosting. chocolate frosting - add about 2 oz. of melted but cool baker’s chocolate when combining butter and flour mixture. Adjust to taste from milk to dark choc. Lemon frosting - extract plus zest to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I chose to try this recipe based on a few of the great reviews. After all the time and work I put into this frosting it came out lumpy. The frosting taste was good but the consistency did not come out so well at all. It was almost like cottage cheese. I do not recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States