Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This came out smooth enough but the flavor was way too buttery and not very sweet. It was like spreading butter over cookies with a little sprinkle of sugar on top. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Delicious, but it takes FOREVER to make - with a KitchenAid, it's little hassle, but a loooong time to wait for the granulated sugar to lose its grainy feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is not to my liking! I read the reviews above, and I was so careful to pay attention to all the tips provided. I bake desserts very often and am the designated dessert maker on the holidays because everyone loves my cooking. So I do not accept that the disgusting texture and flavor were a result of poor baking skills. The person who said it was like baby oatmeal was right on target. Even stirring constantly with a whisk did not remove the flour lumps from the mixture. And the final product was not sweet like traditional buttercream icing. Rather, the flavor was more akin to Cool Whip. I don't recommend this recipe at all. Take the couple of minutes, if possible, to go to the store and pick up confectioners sugar. It'll be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was a recipe that was WAY TOO easy to burn/melt etc... a ball??? didn't understand that term and the recipe directions did not mention the heat suggested to stir the milk and flour in the saucepan. A lot of it had to be estimated and I found granulated sugar made the icing very grainy. Lastly, Taking the saucepan mixture then cooling it to room temp. was nearly impossible! If it was too warm it'd melt the butter, and if you let it really cool to room temp. It stuck to the pan in big lumps and clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
this was a ok frosting, but the flour and milk would clump up in the frosting, and made it taste bad. I would probably not make this frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I ran out of icing sugar for frosting my cakes so this was a lifesaver!!! For chocolate buttercream i added about a 1/4 cup of cocoa powder then beat it with an electric mixer. The flour mixture never really forms a ball but it does get noticably thicker. Thanks for this great icing recipe with no icing sugar!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My mom always made this and she made it a bit different. She uses cornstarch and allows it to thicken but no to the thickness of a ball. A big key factor is also whipping the butter and sugar for a full 15 min. It should look like ice cream before it is done. Of course I make it like mom does. I LOVE this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is the most delicious, silky, creamy, decadent buttercream! I've been making this type (with the flour) for years and use it on almost any cupcake, cakes such as banana and red velvet, and some cakey bars, I've never had it fail. The flour/milk does not need to form a ball - just stir till good and thick and it boils a bit. I usually put a little piece of plastic wrap right on the surface of the mixture to prevent a "skin" of any sort as it's cooling. I beat the butter and granulated sugar together first for only a few minutes, maybe 3-5, then with the room temperature flour mixture till fluffy and creamy, maybe another 3 minutes or so. I've never had a floury taste nor a gritty texture. This is really very easy to prepare and is very conducive to flavor variations, with chocolate being my favorite ( add cocoa and sometimes also some melted semisweet chocolate). The only change I've ever made to this recipe is sometimes adding 1 extra tablespoon of flour for additional thickening. Otherwise, follow this recipe as is for the most wonderful buttercream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is almost the exact same recipe that my grandmother has used for years. Normally I am a chocolate person, but when my Gma makes this frosting on a yellow butter cake, I melt! I make this recipe on my own now and have never had it fail. It always turns out fluffy and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
this was a really good frosting. I gave it 4 stars simply because it looks terrible when colored. I was looking for a recipe to replace the Wilton "butter cream" (with all that shortening ugh) this will be good for crumb coating before fondant and non colored frostings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States