Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I really like the flavor of this frosting, almost like a cooked custard... yummy!! I did make one small change, I made a roux with 2 T of butter and the flour, poured the milk in and and cooked it until it was thick. This solved the possibility of it tasting floury. It was very creamy and I think it would be decent for decorating. I did use a piping bag to pipe it onto cupcakes and they looked beautiful. Also, the color is not pure white which was not a big deal for me but if you need white white you might want to try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Made this after reading many reviews. I made as directed w/ no substitutions and came out better than i'd expected. I am definately not an expericenced cook, so took the advice of others and beat butter sugar mix for 10-15 min. I also found that constant stiring prevents from any scalding or lumps. However while waiting for milk mixture to cool mine started to form a layer on top. I would recommend stiring a few times while cooling b/c this layer could cause lumps if cooled to much and thickened. Luckily mine was creamy and light just as it was supposed to turn out and no gritty texture either. Thx for the lovely recipe, really saved me time not having to run to store for whipping cream .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkindee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Very pleased with this frosting, one of the better I've ever tried. Usually frostings are sweet and have that sugary, grit to the taste. This one is very creamy and not overly sweet. The only change was adding 1/2 tsp butter flavoring, 1/2 tsp vanilla and an orange tint for halloween decorating. Kids and adults loved the frosted cupcakes. Mahalo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Very easy if you follow directions, don't worry about making "a ball". Just make sure the flour and milk get thick.. I whisked it the whole time and cooked it on a really low heat. I used granulated sugar and beat it for about 15-20 minutes off and on. I would do it during commercial breaks while I watched t.v.. It tastes so good!! I use either vanilla extract for the flavor or Mrs. Butterworths Original flavor pancake syrup. It's REALLY good!! Don't be afraid to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie Babcock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toluca Lake, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA
Photo by Ciru
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
LOVED IT!! I am new to the baking world and have generally end up with baking disasters. I was apprehensive when I read the reviews on this frosting, but I had to try it for myself. I wanted a frosting that didn't use icing sugar, and this fit the bill. I mixed the milk (and some 35% cream) and flour first then cooked it until the bottom started to get thick and took it off the heat. Be sure to keep stirring as it cooks. I used a hand mixer (I read how lots of people used kitchen aid mixers and didn't know if a hand beater would work - it DOES!) I beat the sugar and butter until smooth (3-5 mins) and then added in the flour/milk mix and beat it smooth and added drops of red food coloring for pink frosting. Popped in the fridge for 20-25 mins, out and piped it onto vanilla cup cakes. Its EXACTLY the kind of frosting I wanted, not too sweet, smooth soft texture. This is a keeper!! I even joined allrecipes.com to comment because I feel like Martha Stewart or something, cant wait to share my cupcakes. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ciru
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
this recipe was great.. but I did change one thing.. I used corn starch in stead of the flour.. forms into a ball fast and doesnt add in flavor to the recipe just helps to make the frosting thick : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I liked the idea of this recipe because confectioners sugar wasn't used. I substituted the butter and milk with soy alternatives due to food allergies. I didn't understand the "ball" instruction and it never quite reached that stage...more of a pasty clump. After waiting an hour for this to set to frosting consistency, it was still a greasy mess and was littered with clumps of flour and tasted awful. I will not try this recipe again but hope that it works well for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I thought this was going to be complicated. But if you had a problem with this recipe, definitely try it again. It really is easy and the outcome is great! I will never buy canned frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tellez820
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I was searching for the best frosting out there and I must say this one is pretty awesome! It was very easy to make and not super sweet. Just the right amount of sweetness. It taste great and I didn't have any problem getting the right taste. I really do think that refrigerating it does make a difference when pipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tellez820
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Oh wow! Light and creamy with a delicious buttery flavor. I usually detest frosting, viewing it as a necessary evil for decorating a cake or cupcakes. But this recipe made me view cake as a vehicle for frosting. It is quite soft, so wouldn't work well for detailed decorations, but it was made lovely 'swirly roses' on cupcakes. Be careful not to overwhip it, or it almost becomes too smooth and buttery (there's a fine line between gritty and buttery, but I like to use the granulated sugar). I will definitely make this again just as soon as I can fit back into my jeans. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States