Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I thought this was going to be complicated. But if you had a problem with this recipe, definitely try it again. It really is easy and the outcome is great! I will never buy canned frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tellez820
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I was searching for the best frosting out there and I must say this one is pretty awesome! It was very easy to make and not super sweet. Just the right amount of sweetness. It taste great and I didn't have any problem getting the right taste. I really do think that refrigerating it does make a difference when pipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tellez820
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Oh wow! Light and creamy with a delicious buttery flavor. I usually detest frosting, viewing it as a necessary evil for decorating a cake or cupcakes. But this recipe made me view cake as a vehicle for frosting. It is quite soft, so wouldn't work well for detailed decorations, but it was made lovely 'swirly roses' on cupcakes. Be careful not to overwhip it, or it almost becomes too smooth and buttery (there's a fine line between gritty and buttery, but I like to use the granulated sugar). I will definitely make this again just as soon as I can fit back into my jeans. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This came out smooth enough but the flavor was way too buttery and not very sweet. It was like spreading butter over cookies with a little sprinkle of sugar on top. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Delicious, but it takes FOREVER to make - with a KitchenAid, it's little hassle, but a loooong time to wait for the granulated sugar to lose its grainy feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is not to my liking! I read the reviews above, and I was so careful to pay attention to all the tips provided. I bake desserts very often and am the designated dessert maker on the holidays because everyone loves my cooking. So I do not accept that the disgusting texture and flavor were a result of poor baking skills. The person who said it was like baby oatmeal was right on target. Even stirring constantly with a whisk did not remove the flour lumps from the mixture. And the final product was not sweet like traditional buttercream icing. Rather, the flavor was more akin to Cool Whip. I don't recommend this recipe at all. Take the couple of minutes, if possible, to go to the store and pick up confectioners sugar. It'll be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was a recipe that was WAY TOO easy to burn/melt etc... a ball??? didn't understand that term and the recipe directions did not mention the heat suggested to stir the milk and flour in the saucepan. A lot of it had to be estimated and I found granulated sugar made the icing very grainy. Lastly, Taking the saucepan mixture then cooling it to room temp. was nearly impossible! If it was too warm it'd melt the butter, and if you let it really cool to room temp. It stuck to the pan in big lumps and clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
this was a ok frosting, but the flour and milk would clump up in the frosting, and made it taste bad. I would probably not make this frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I ran out of icing sugar for frosting my cakes so this was a lifesaver!!! For chocolate buttercream i added about a 1/4 cup of cocoa powder then beat it with an electric mixer. The flour mixture never really forms a ball but it does get noticably thicker. Thanks for this great icing recipe with no icing sugar!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My mom always made this and she made it a bit different. She uses cornstarch and allows it to thicken but no to the thickness of a ball. A big key factor is also whipping the butter and sugar for a full 15 min. It should look like ice cream before it is done. Of course I make it like mom does. I LOVE this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States