Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Best Buttercream is right! I've used this for wedding cupcakes with rave reviews and the guys I work with beg me to bring them in at least once a month! I cook the flour mixture until it's like a thick pudding and add it to the well beaten sugar and butter just before it's room temp. I find it being a little warm helps disolve the sugar better. (but not warm enough to melt the butter) DO NOT substitute powdered sugar - would be way too sweet. Make sure you have a stand mixture and once you think you've beat it long enough, beat it that much more. This recipe is tedious to make, but so worth the time and effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Oh wow, I'm having one of those "I can't believe I made that!" moments! This frosting is luscious, it's my first time making a true frosting, I've tried icing before (yes there is a difference). Definitely follow the suggestion to beat the sugar and butter for 15 mins, I think this is what made it turn out so well as it is so fluffy and creamy. I loved it,, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Rasheed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I followed the directions exactly and it tasted way too much like flour. Too much effort for not a very nice finished product in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I really like the flavor of this frosting, almost like a cooked custard... yummy!! I did make one small change, I made a roux with 2 T of butter and the flour, poured the milk in and and cooked it until it was thick. This solved the possibility of it tasting floury. It was very creamy and I think it would be decent for decorating. I did use a piping bag to pipe it onto cupcakes and they looked beautiful. Also, the color is not pure white which was not a big deal for me but if you need white white you might want to try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Made this after reading many reviews. I made as directed w/ no substitutions and came out better than i'd expected. I am definately not an expericenced cook, so took the advice of others and beat butter sugar mix for 10-15 min. I also found that constant stiring prevents from any scalding or lumps. However while waiting for milk mixture to cool mine started to form a layer on top. I would recommend stiring a few times while cooling b/c this layer could cause lumps if cooled to much and thickened. Luckily mine was creamy and light just as it was supposed to turn out and no gritty texture either. Thx for the lovely recipe, really saved me time not having to run to store for whipping cream .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkindee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Very pleased with this frosting, one of the better I've ever tried. Usually frostings are sweet and have that sugary, grit to the taste. This one is very creamy and not overly sweet. The only change was adding 1/2 tsp butter flavoring, 1/2 tsp vanilla and an orange tint for halloween decorating. Kids and adults loved the frosted cupcakes. Mahalo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Very easy if you follow directions, don't worry about making "a ball". Just make sure the flour and milk get thick.. I whisked it the whole time and cooked it on a really low heat. I used granulated sugar and beat it for about 15-20 minutes off and on. I would do it during commercial breaks while I watched t.v.. It tastes so good!! I use either vanilla extract for the flavor or Mrs. Butterworths Original flavor pancake syrup. It's REALLY good!! Don't be afraid to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bffrlz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toluca Lake, California, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA
Photo by Ciru
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
LOVED IT!! I am new to the baking world and have generally end up with baking disasters. I was apprehensive when I read the reviews on this frosting, but I had to try it for myself. I wanted a frosting that didn't use icing sugar, and this fit the bill. I mixed the milk (and some 35% cream) and flour first then cooked it until the bottom started to get thick and took it off the heat. Be sure to keep stirring as it cooks. I used a hand mixer (I read how lots of people used kitchen aid mixers and didn't know if a hand beater would work - it DOES!) I beat the sugar and butter until smooth (3-5 mins) and then added in the flour/milk mix and beat it smooth and added drops of red food coloring for pink frosting. Popped in the fridge for 20-25 mins, out and piped it onto vanilla cup cakes. Its EXACTLY the kind of frosting I wanted, not too sweet, smooth soft texture. This is a keeper!! I even joined allrecipes.com to comment because I feel like Martha Stewart or something, cant wait to share my cupcakes. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ciru
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
this recipe was great.. but I did change one thing.. I used corn starch in stead of the flour.. forms into a ball fast and doesnt add in flavor to the recipe just helps to make the frosting thick : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I liked the idea of this recipe because confectioners sugar wasn't used. I substituted the butter and milk with soy alternatives due to food allergies. I didn't understand the "ball" instruction and it never quite reached that stage...more of a pasty clump. After waiting an hour for this to set to frosting consistency, it was still a greasy mess and was littered with clumps of flour and tasted awful. I will not try this recipe again but hope that it works well for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States