Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Have been making this for over a year now and so far the best frosting recipe I have found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I read the reviews about cooking it long enough. I feel I did that. I let it cool to room temperature and I did not care for the consistency. I feel like that is the reason why there were bits of it in the frosting, plus I really didn't care for the texture of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToybobMama11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We love cupcakes around here, so we make a lot of frostings. This one is the BEST buttercream frosting, period. The key to this is patience! First, whisk the flour and milk together completely before heating it. Don't worry about the flour and milk forming a ball, either- it just needs to get to a smooth, thick consistency, but it takes some time over low to medium heat. KEEP WHISKING THE WHOLE TIME YOU ARE HEATING IT! Cool it to about 85 degrees and then add to the sugar/butter. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
"forms a ball" meant absolutely nothing to me, and the recipe should specify more on the fact that the flour mixture cannot pass room temperature or it doesn't work, and the mixture was far too much of a liquid to be called "frosting"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla238

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I LOVED this frosting! I did not cook the milk and flour until it formed a ball, but just until it was a glue-y consistency. I also used pure can sugar and put it in the food processor first for a finer grit and added a tablespoon of honey to this recipe! It really does take 20+ min to beat it to the correct consistency.... Masterful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janisjoslyn
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is not your typical rich buttercream. If you're looking for a whipped type of icing that's not too sweet, this is perfect! I cooked the flour & milk until it became thick (like white gravy). I was worried that the sugar could be "grainy" or "crunchy" and it was a little bit at first but once I refrigerated it for a few hours.....everything came together perfectly. I would use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Awesome recipe! Just what I was looking for to frost my cupcakes with. Took the advice of another reviewer and added the flour gradually to the milk and kept on whisking. Also used icing sugar instead of granulated. I added orange flavoring instead of vanilla and added some colouring. Twas just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this for the first time today and I loved it!!!!!! I even doubled the recipe to make sure I would have enough. It's nice and buttery but not too sweet. This is the one you need if like you're like me & think rhe buttercream icing is way too sweet! I was a little nervous after reading all the reviews about cooking the milk & flour, then making sure it was cool enough before adding to the butter/sugar mixture. All in all I did pretty good for my first try. Hopefully everyone likes this at the party tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I've made this frosting several times now. When I take the time to beat the sugar and butter together until the sugar is dissolved, it is delicious. It takes a solid six minutes, or longer, though. I've also substituted half the butter for peanut butter and that has worked well for a peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
It doesn't form a ball like the recipe says, you have to make sure the flour/milk mixture gets really really thick while cooking it on low and make sure you constantly wisk it while it is cooking or you could get lumps. Even as it was cooling I stirred it a bit. Patience is key. If you are not patient it will not turn out good. If you are, this is an amazing frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States