Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
this is a very old standard cooked buttercream recipe. For those having a difficult time with it…the milk and flour mixture…think white sauce or making gravy from scratch…this is the consistency you're looking for when finished before cooling. I've never used powdered sugar either. Alway granulated and yes you need to mix/beat it for almost 10 minutes! It does break down in hot weather so in the summer it is usually a refrigerator cake. and yes….this is not a sweet buttercream. It is a mildly sweet frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I was so excited to try this recipe after reading reviews. Unfortunately it was an utter failure. Not on my part, it came together just fine. The consistency was just right but the flavor was just not good. Also- 1 cup of flour and barely any yields.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amandah Withan H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This recipe was awesome. It turned out much better than I expected! It was smooth and creamy, and not at all to sweet. A bit gritty because of the granulated sugar I used, but that may have been caused by the fact that I didn't feel like mixing it for the recommended time (10-15 minutes). I also added a little extra vanilla, and it was perfect. Will definitely be my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
For those of you with questions about granulated white sugar, extra fine white sugar, and powdered confectioners white sugar, here's the secret: put granulated white sugar in the blender. It will become extra fine, and if you blend it long enough, it will become powdered. This is how the food companies get us to pay MORE for something we can do in our own kitchens. Same thing w/brown sugar; just add some molasses to white sugar. (That's how they got it to turn white; they REMOVED the molasses. Just put it back in.) And vanilla sugar: just add a split vanilla bean to a container of white sugar. Easy as pie, and twice as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Wood Delamare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This is a great recipe! I read some of the reviews and I had to comment. I was watching g'kids for my daughter who had to go to the hospital. She had promised a cake for a dinner that evening so g'pa finished it. This recipe came up when I searched. I made it for the first time with no problem. I used granulated auger and probably didn't let the milk/flour paste cool long enough but it was very smooth and tasty. Not grainy at all. My new favorite. I made it at home for g'ma but with Kefir instead of dead milk. My new new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Excellent. Not overly sweet and holds it shape xtremely well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I was disappointed in this recipe. It wasn't hard to make, turned out smooth and creamy but with no taste. If your looking for a buttercream or a truly sweet frosting, this isn't it. It tastes more like the whipped variety of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I've used this recipe 3 times and it has not failed me yet. my family loves it and told me not to ever use anything else. so I guess that answers that! If you follow the directions, you shouldn't have any problems and don't alter anything. just wondering how it will work on cookies, has anyone ever tried it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Robertson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennifer sabruno
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Delicious and easy, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer sabruno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Love this, going in my recipe box for sure :) listen to the number one reviewer!! Also, I whisked the flour into the milk over medium high heat stirring constantly. Turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States