Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This recipe was wonderful -so creamy and delightful and not too sweet! I'd give it 5 stars but I'd prefer if it was just a *bit* thicker. I made it according to the recipe, taking into account some of the tremendously helpful comments. For example, while cooking the flour/milk mixture I got the mashed-potato consistency that someone mentioned; it only formed a ball once the mixture had cooled to room temp. I used granulated sugar and took the recommendation of beating it "mercilessly" -it didn't look totally uniform/dissolved but after a while I relented, and I was pleased to find that the final product was delightfully creamy! I'm going to try to tweak it to get it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Malik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for making buttercream frosting. Every time I use it on a cake it people always ask what kind of frosting it is and demand the recipe! My trick is to substitute heavy cream for the milk. It adds just a little more lightness to the frosting when it is whipped. Like others have said, only cook the dairy and flour until it has thickened. Be certain that part of the recipe is entirely cooled before you add it to the butter and sugar. IF you happen to add it too early (like I have done) and your frosting turns to soup, refrigerate everything until it is cool and whip it up. Also, do not use confectioners sugar. If you want to add a different flavor, use some of trader joe's organic granulated sugar. For whatever reason it adds a very interesting and delicious flavor to the icing. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
It was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
My family has been making this for years. the flour mixture never turned into a ball as recipe says, we always cook until thick and a grey-ish blue in color, the trick is not letting the mixture get to cold and beating the butter and white sugar until it looks like whipped cream and all sugar is dissolved. (it will even turns white) add the flour mixture to the butter a tbl spoon at a time and beat well between each drop. it is very time consuming, but worth every minute. Was looking on a good way to make this chocolate,but have not seen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg Smith-Mashke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This is a great frosting that's smoother and lighter than ordinary buttercream with powdered sugar and butter. We're gluten free so I use corn starch instead of flour. I think it's easier than working with flour because corn starch dissolves more easily and firms up more quickly. Mix 5 tbls of corn starch into half the milk -- whisk until it's all dissolved. Then put it on the heat, and stirring CONSTANTLY on medium-high heat, wait about a minute or two. It will quickly firm up. I continue to stir for another minute, then put the mixture in a bowl to cool in the fridge. Then continue with the recipe as shown. Also -- if you beat the butter and granulated sugar really well for a long time, with soft (warmed to room temp) butter, you'll have a smoother, fluffier frosting. If you use powdered sugar, well, you don't really need the cooked flour because powdered sugar contains corn starch, so you might as well just follow a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
My first time making this recipe and I am astonished how delicious it is! Smooth and fluffy. I followed some of the recommendations of other posters: creamed the butter/sugar for full 15mins. Used a thermometer to make sure milk/flour did not cool too much after thickening and the smell/taste of raw flour was gone. (mine was fine at 75.. others said 80-85). Don't rush this! It is worth the time... and no garbage ingredients! Outstanding. I can't wait to color it and frost my cake. Bliss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I grew up on this recipe and thought it was a family secret - lol It is a 5 star recipe in concept but after reading the reviews and having made the same errors as a young girl learning to bake I wanted to help others so they can make it without fail every time. 1. Use 5 tbsp flour, not 4 2. Cook the flour mixture until it is a thick paste and forms globs that stick together 3. Let the flour mixture cool COMPLETELY 4. Whip the butter and sugar until it is light and fluffy - this will take some time but is critical to prevent a granular texture 5. Add vanilla and flour to fluffy whipped butter and sugar mixture and beat until well blended,thick and fluffy 6. Because there is butter in this recipe, when you refrigerate it be prepared for a change in texture as the butter will harden - it really does not need refridgeration before or after frosting your cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
One of the best I've ever tasted. Made it for my daughters birthday because butter cream is all she'll eat. She is lactose intolerant so I used almond milk in the frosting and the coconut pudding filling (almond milk works great) I read the other reviews and agree with the lady that said the flour/milk mixture does not turn to a ball but as she said like mashed potatoes put thru a food processor. After it cooled down I put it in the freezer for about 10 minutes and then added it to the butter/ sugar mix. It turned out so nice. By the way if you get any lumps just use an electric hand mixer and beat it for a minute, it really smooths it out. I highly recommend this frosting, it beats those greasy tasting store bought ones hands down. I will be using this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Tried this yesterday for my doll cake and it turned out soo good! Fluffy, light, and not so sweet, just perfect! FYI, I am still a novice in baking and decorating cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
seriously the best frosting ever!!! I really questioned whether this was going to work throughout the whole process. I blended the flour and milk in the bullet and then added it on the stove. I also used some heavy cream along with the milk...just because I had it. It did not take long at all to get to thick. Actually I forgot about it while I put the butter and sugar in my kitchenaid. It got thick a lot thicker than expected. The sugar did take a long time in the kitchenaid to melt. But not as long as some of the other reviews I read. Probably about 10 min. I also thought it did better on medium than high. I also added a 1/4 powdered sugar because I thought it was not going to be that sweet and I knew my cake was not that sweet. My flour milk/milk did get to a ball stage though I was not expecting it too. I added it to the sugar/butter with the sugar not completely dissolved and when it was just barely warm hoping the small amount of heat would melt the sugar...turned out just perfect. The most delicious creamy frosting ever!! (though I don't think I needed the extra 1/4 cup powdered sugar...should have trusted the process) I could not believe it. I've never made frosting by adding cooked milk and flour...but it definitely works...so much so that I had to submit a review. It takes some time but it's definitely worth it!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States