Best Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
so i of course tried it because im a busy mother of four and they were delish I added left over brown rice to the ground meat and then some med picante sauce to the rice mixture, chopped some lettuce, tomato, shredded cheese, and sour cream. spread on the refried beans to the whole wheat tortillas, added all other ingredients and it was a hit. will definately try again... oh and it was quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This made for a quick and easy lunch today. I had boiled some pinto beans, last night, and was looking for a recipe to use them in. I mashed them on the tortilla and heated it in the microwave about 45 seconds with the cheese. I used low fat cheddar instead of American cheese and a Trader Joes tortilla. I didn't use the black pepper, because I don't like it. Oddly, adding the sour cream and hot sauce did make it remind me a little of a taco bell bean burrito. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was ok. I used cheddar cheese instead of American. Definitely not the best bean burrito I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I tried this recipe just to try it even though I was a little nervous about using exackly what the recipe calls for. American cheese? Yuck. This is a mexican dish that should be served with shredded mexican cheese. My family hated this recipe. Never again. This shouldnt be listed under the mexican recipe section thats for sure.....AWFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
No, not the "best" but I thought they were fairly good and extra points for being super easy, although heating everything in the microwave would be even easier. I slopped some extra sour cream and taco sauce on top. My one big complaint that no one has mentioned: I doubled the filling because I wanted to make two. And that was just barely enough to fill a 10" tortilla. I even double-checked the recipe that it hadn't been meant for a smaller one. I cannot imagine 1/4 cup beans and slice of cheese even remotely matching a 10" tortilla, unless you just enjoy eating tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
American Cheese a No-NO! Not enough flavour, spices or creativity for me. I had to add a lot to make this dish seem appealing. I am a fan of simple meals, but this one was too far bland for my tastebuds to do a the two step let alone the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Made these for lunch and they were very good. I used shredded cheese because I don't care for the american slices. Took everything to work and made their in the microwave. Yummy lunch!! ** EDITED ** Made these for the kids for lunch today and my youngest daughter loved them. I used sour cream on the side and left out the hot pepper sauce for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
i used homemade refried beans from this site. and also used a mix of mexican cheese. no sour cream. i like to make alot of them wrap them in foil and freeze them. that way i have them on hand for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I altered this recipe to my liking. I used whole wheat "plus" mission tortillas (the brand name) & i used gerbhardt refried beans, they dont have alot of additives, just beans, water & salt. I put a touch of olive oil in a frying pan and added the beans, med-hi heat and add a dash of cumin and salt. I also would never use american cheese, i agree with others that it is not right for this. I added onions, cheddar & sour cream. I served with Fresh tomato salsa i found here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Quick, easy, and tasty. I could not imagine using American cheese with a burrito, however so used shredded 4-cheese Mexican blend. I sauteed some green onion in the saucepan before adding the can of refried beans to heat. Also added a tiny bit of lime juice to freshen up the flavor and I ate the burrito with picante sauce. Lots of flavor and I'm looking forward to having the leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States