Best Burger Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
With the exception of eliminating the hot sauce and using garlic powder instead of the dried minced garlic, I followed the remaining ingredients and measurements as the recipe directs. Actually, I have to disagree with those who commented this sauce tasted like McDonald's -in my opinion it's much BETTER than McDonald's, if only for the reason that it is not nearly as sweet. Hubby is a hamburger with ketchup purist, but accomodated me by trying this. After a few bites of his burger I asked him what he thought of the sauce, assuming he'd remain loyal to his ketchup. He told me I should make it again. Ha! I thought the taste of the mustard was a little too evident, but he disagreed, liking it just the way it was. We both agreed the wee bit of vinegar provided just the right tang. While it may never make ketchup take a back seat, this was definitely a nice change - loved the blend of ingredients! Much better than simply mixing mayo with ketchup and pickle relish. Glad I tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Wow! The name says it all. This is the best burger sauce! I scaled this down to 5 servings and followed it exactly. I used Frank's Red Hot for the hot sauce and it was delicious. It does taste just like McDonald's Big Mac sauce. I used this on "The Perfect Basic Burger" from this site. I can't wait to try this again and I'm not one to use a bunch of sauces or condiments on burgers, but this one really is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was awesome! WAY better than the other burger sauce I made from this site. I added about a 1/2 cup of chopped pickles and 1/2 tsp. of horseradish to this recipe. Turned out great. Make sure you REALLY like burger sauce. This recipe makes a ton. EDITED 08/03/08: After letting this sit in the fridge for about a week and a half, this is close to McDonald's Big Mac Sauce. I think it's better having sit. Everyone should try to make this once. Much better than your boring old mayo/ketchup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This sauce is AWSESOME!!! I followed the advice of preparing it 3 days in advance and it was so much different and better than how it tasted the day of making it (even though it tasted pretty good then too!) My husband was in love with it immediately when he tasted it on his burger. As a matter of fact, he said if I lose this recipe he doesn't ever want a burger again! =] A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisser73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
ABSOLUTELY amazing!!! As a college student I didn't have vinegar or onion powder on hand. Other than that I followed the rest of the ingredients and instead of minced garlic, I used garlic powder- and it came out perfectly YUMMY!! So to those few who do not have vinegar and minced onion on hand, No Worries!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
wow! im not big on mixed up ketchup mayo mustard stuff but this was so good. i did add some chopped sweet pickle because i was trying to make it like the sauce on jumbo jacks. it was exceptional and even my husband said wow thats good stuff. it makes alot and i scaled it down to 5 servings. i will def make this again. it was better after it chilled in the fridge a couple hours but it was good after i made it too. thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I was really expecting to like this based on the mostly rave reviews, but I really didn't care for the flavor of it, myself. The mustard was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I did everything just like the recipe said and it was wonderful ...NO modifying!! That is always annoying to me. But I use two weeks later. I add this to a meatloaf after I had a grate Burger for fun, I'am going to make some more mealoafs. THAT WAS SOOO GOOD !! THAT YOU.....6-7 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
this was good, not the best...yet. i only had an hour to let it chill so the flavors didnt get to meld together completely. from what ive heard, itll be better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was great. I used very very finely chopped fresh onion instead of dried, and a very hot/tangy prepared English mustard. Thanks, devilcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States