Best Burger Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
My boyfriend and I have to drive to a rural bar in Minnesota once a month for the best burgers ever. That is no longer the case. These are moist, have a total beefy flavor, and they are tender. The only change I made, was to add 1 teaspoon chili powder instead of the hot sauce. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I cut the recipe in half as it was just for my husband and myself. It made three nice-size burgers. The flavor was OK, but I found the texture unappealing. It was more like a soggy meatloaf texture than a burger. It was raining when I made them. I cooked them indoor on the grill side of my griddle so the grease drained away nicely, but still bad texture. Think I'll pass on this recipe. Sorry. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Peek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monticello, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
These burgers was great! After reading other reviews re: the oatmeal, I cut it back to 1/2 cup. Used Quick Oats because that's what I had. Made the burgers earlier in the day and then refrigerated until about 1/2 hour before grilling them. Maybe the do-ahead combined w/the quick oats made the oatmeal softer...honestly, if I hadn't made them myself, I won't have noticed the oatmeal. Also, it was just the right amount of hot sauce to give the burgers alittle zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Great flavor but I did not care for the oatmeal. The texture was not that of a hamburger more like a meatloaf. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Great flavor. Love this recipe. I used the full amount of oats and they were outstanding. These are on the menu for all of our cook outs from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was a pretty good burger. The texture was different than your normal burger but that was fine with us. Very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I don't think it is the BEST ever...It was OK...The best ever of any food has to have a WOW factor..There was not a wow in this burger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was a very good burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I've been making burgers this way for years and they've always gotten compliments. I use Italian bread crumbs, however, in place of the oats, and leave out the hot sauce (our personal tastes don't run to hot foods). I also add a couple of cloves of minced garlic and a tbsp of green relish to spice things up. It holds together nicely on the grill, even when I make nice huge flat patties for those large buns. There is NO other way to make a burger!;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
These were pretty good, although yes, reminiscent of meatloaf. The hot sauce adds a nice kick, though. Here's a trick for those whose kids "don't like" oatmeal (like mine). Run the dry oatmeal through the blender to make an oat "flour". Same concept, fewer pieces, same binding action. And no oatmeal complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States