Best Burger Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I've been making burgers this way for years and they've always gotten compliments. I use Italian bread crumbs, however, in place of the oats, and leave out the hot sauce (our personal tastes don't run to hot foods). I also add a couple of cloves of minced garlic and a tbsp of green relish to spice things up. It holds together nicely on the grill, even when I make nice huge flat patties for those large buns. There is NO other way to make a burger!;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I wouldn't say it's the best burger ever, but it's worth repeating! I'm not a spice lover so I was a little concerned with the hot pepper sauce, but I followed the recipe exactly and found that it added just a little zing. Very nice! Here's a tip I just learned and it worked out great. Put an indent in the middle of your patties with your thumb before cooking - then they'll come out flat and not bulging in the middle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Great burgers! I added a pat of butter and inserted into the center of the patty before grilling, make sure you close the meat around it. It adds so much flavor to burgers even in the oven grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyndaBBee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
These were easy and tasted good. I cut the oats down to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
THE FIRST TIME I MADE THESE: I left out the onion soup mix and egg and they were AWESOME! I'm a huge fan of flat, flat burgers. hate, hate meatball burgers. well, these were super flat and very tasty. my 3 kids ate them and never said a word about the hot sauce. it wasn't spicy like hot sauce, it just made for a very tasty burger. also very moist. i will make these often. will probably add some extra garlic salt since we are very fond of garlic. we even garlic salt our french fries. yummy. thanks. THE SECOND TIME I MADE THESE: i used the onion soup mix and egg. they were still moist and flat, but they tasted waaaay too much like meatloaf. no one liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missi.spirito

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
These turned out pretty dry. Had to cop them up for the kids and serve it to them like meatloaf otherwise they wouldn't eat them. They were also surprisingly bland. If I make these again I will cut down on the oats and add pickle relish like another reviewer stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
This was really good. I was a little skeptical of the oatmeal at first, but it tasted wonderful. We made them for a grill out and I got nothing but compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
Excellent flavour!! I generally do not eat hamburgers, but could not help myself in this case. I made a double recipe. The burgers were even better the next day reheated as the flavour became even better. A great make ahead meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Preeceville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Since we still have plenty of snow on the ground, we were unable to grill these. Instead, I made it into a meatloaf (still following the recipe exactly) that I cooked for 1 hour at 350. It was great. My BF loved it and said he liked it better than my regular meatloaf. I will try this again as burgers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I tried this recipe and found the burgers to be a bit dry. I don't fault the recipe though, I made the patties too thin! Next time I'll make them thicker and add 1/2 tin onion soup to make them more moist, a trick recommended by my mother the supreme chef. All in all, an easy burger to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Hamburger Ever

See how to make juicy grilled burgers loaded with good stuff.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States