Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Great recipe! I added a 1/4 t vanilla & reduced salt by half, esp if using salted butter. No need to let recipe sit overnight, just be certain NOT to over mix. I also added liquid mixture to dry gently pushing around bowl with a whisk. Then stirred just enough until dry ingredients absorbed. Light, tasty- definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This recipe did not work out for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Best pancake recipe ever! I don't have access to buttermilk where I live, so I have successfully substituted sour milk (milk plus some vinegar) or laban (a liquid yogurt used in the Middle East.) I double the recipe so we'll have extra pancakes to heat up during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I ran out of my usual mix for Buckwheat pancakes, so gave this recipe a try. I will never buy the mix again! These were light, fluffy, and absolutely delicious. I melted the butter right in the frying pan, so it was already seasoned and I didn't need to add more for frying. Next time, I will add a few pecans or walnuts, for a little crunch, and use homemade applesauce for a topping. - Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
These pancakes came out great with no adjustments. The batter was so thick that I thought that I would need to add more liquid, but they came out fluffy despite the thickness. I gobbled mine up so fast that I made my stomach hurt. A definite hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is, by far, the best buckwheat pancake recipe I've ever tasted! I made a couple tiny changes: instead of butter, I used coconut oil; instead of all-purpose flour, I used gluten-free all-purpose flour; and instead of white sugar, I used pure Maple Syrup (same amounts). EXCELLENT and now gluten free! Very light. The buckwheat flavor is subtle, not heavy. Delicious and nutritious. Thank you Jessica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Having grown up with my mother making Aunt Jemima's buckwheat pancakes, a mix I no longer see in the stores, I was looking for a recipe using buckwheat flour to replicate those memories. This recipe was perfect! Since we had fresh blueberries from the local farmers market when I made these, we had delicious blueberry buckwheat pancakes for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I added vanilla but they were still pretty bland next time I will add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
My family and I love this recipe. The only change I've made is substitute whole wheat flour for the white flour. Of course, I grind my own wheatberries and buckwheat groats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This recipe makes a wonderful pancake. I recommend letting the batter set up for a few minutes to thicken before pouring onto the griddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States