Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This recipe did not work out for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Best pancake recipe ever! I don't have access to buttermilk where I live, so I have successfully substituted sour milk (milk plus some vinegar) or laban (a liquid yogurt used in the Middle East.) I double the recipe so we'll have extra pancakes to heat up during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I ran out of my usual mix for Buckwheat pancakes, so gave this recipe a try. I will never buy the mix again! These were light, fluffy, and absolutely delicious. I melted the butter right in the frying pan, so it was already seasoned and I didn't need to add more for frying. Next time, I will add a few pecans or walnuts, for a little crunch, and use homemade applesauce for a topping. - Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
These pancakes came out great with no adjustments. The batter was so thick that I thought that I would need to add more liquid, but they came out fluffy despite the thickness. I gobbled mine up so fast that I made my stomach hurt. A definite hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is, by far, the best buckwheat pancake recipe I've ever tasted! I made a couple tiny changes: instead of butter, I used coconut oil; instead of all-purpose flour, I used gluten-free all-purpose flour; and instead of white sugar, I used pure Maple Syrup (same amounts). EXCELLENT and now gluten free! Very light. The buckwheat flavor is subtle, not heavy. Delicious and nutritious. Thank you Jessica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Having grown up with my mother making Aunt Jemima's buckwheat pancakes, a mix I no longer see in the stores, I was looking for a recipe using buckwheat flour to replicate those memories. This recipe was perfect! Since we had fresh blueberries from the local farmers market when I made these, we had delicious blueberry buckwheat pancakes for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I added vanilla but they were still pretty bland next time I will add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
My family and I love this recipe. The only change I've made is substitute whole wheat flour for the white flour. Of course, I grind my own wheatberries and buckwheat groats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This recipe makes a wonderful pancake. I recommend letting the batter set up for a few minutes to thicken before pouring onto the griddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
These pancakes are fabulous. Light, fluffy, just delicious. I must add that I added a dash of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla simply because I adore those flavors..and WOW!!!!!!!!!! These are a keeper. I had to try not to eat the entire batch myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States