Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
These were delicious.. I took a suggestion from above under most helpful reviews and let the batter sit a while. I let it sit overnight and they turned out great. Just fluffy enough and not at all dense. Very tasty. Added some syrup and they just melted in my mouth. Will definitely be making them again soon, they are a new breakfast favorite. Quick and easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Very good but I did make a few changes/additions. I doubled the suggested amount of sugar, then I added: 1 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/8 tsp of nutmeg. I also followed some of the other suggestions of letting the batter sit before using. I let it sit for about a half hour at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
These were delicious! I added blueberries and walnuts. Definitely let mixture sit for at least 30 minutes before making the pancakes. Here are some substitutions that also work just fine: Olive oil instead of butter; chopped dates instead of sugar; whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose flour. (Instead of buttermilk, I mixed 1/4 cup almond milk with 3/4 cup plain yogurt, and about 1/2 teaspoon vinegar -- let stand 3 minutes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Great recipe! I added a 1/4 t vanilla & reduced salt by half, esp if using salted butter. No need to let recipe sit overnight, just be certain NOT to over mix. I also added liquid mixture to dry gently pushing around bowl with a whisk. Then stirred just enough until dry ingredients absorbed. Light, tasty- definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This recipe did not work out for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Best pancake recipe ever! I don't have access to buttermilk where I live, so I have successfully substituted sour milk (milk plus some vinegar) or laban (a liquid yogurt used in the Middle East.) I double the recipe so we'll have extra pancakes to heat up during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I ran out of my usual mix for Buckwheat pancakes, so gave this recipe a try. I will never buy the mix again! These were light, fluffy, and absolutely delicious. I melted the butter right in the frying pan, so it was already seasoned and I didn't need to add more for frying. Next time, I will add a few pecans or walnuts, for a little crunch, and use homemade applesauce for a topping. - Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
These pancakes came out great with no adjustments. The batter was so thick that I thought that I would need to add more liquid, but they came out fluffy despite the thickness. I gobbled mine up so fast that I made my stomach hurt. A definite hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is, by far, the best buckwheat pancake recipe I've ever tasted! I made a couple tiny changes: instead of butter, I used coconut oil; instead of all-purpose flour, I used gluten-free all-purpose flour; and instead of white sugar, I used pure Maple Syrup (same amounts). EXCELLENT and now gluten free! Very light. The buckwheat flavor is subtle, not heavy. Delicious and nutritious. Thank you Jessica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Having grown up with my mother making Aunt Jemima's buckwheat pancakes, a mix I no longer see in the stores, I was looking for a recipe using buckwheat flour to replicate those memories. This recipe was perfect! Since we had fresh blueberries from the local farmers market when I made these, we had delicious blueberry buckwheat pancakes for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States