Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Followed the recipe to a "T" except for doubling it, but the result tasted strongly of baking soda, and little else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
These pancakes were surprisingly light and tasty. My pancake-hating husband went back for seconds! Was pressed for time, so I only let the batter sit for 30 minutes before making (will leave for longer next time). Easy to make and delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
These were great and wolfed down by all the family. Very light having made them the night before and refridgerated. Leftovers also reheated in the toaster very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
These are so good that you'd never know they were made with buckwheat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Made a triple batch of these about 2 hours before cooking them. 1/4 cup batter per pancake was a little too much. This made about 26 or so 4" cakes. They didn't rise and get fluffy, but they were very, very tender. Hard to beat these served with homemade maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
WOW! This are great! My very difficult 2 year old just gobbled them down. They really are light and delicious. I did let them sit as was suggested and they came out just perfect. I was having 'regular' pancakes yesterday and they tasted like styrofoam. I am so glad this recipe was posted! I will never make 'standard' pancakes again. :) I can't wait to try the variations posted by others - blueberries, molasses - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
These pancakes did cook up fluffy but the taste was less than appealing. All I could taste was baking soda and salt. I added about 2T of sugar and that made these pancakes edible. I did have to substitute plain yogurt for the buttermilk, an acceptable substitution according to Allrecipes. If I make these again, I will not add salt, will add more sugar and may cut back on the soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I made them as waffles. Wow! They tasted great! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used regular milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice, as a previous reviewer suggested. The whole family LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Fantastic! These were great tasting and had a great thick texture like we like them. Quick and easy to make! I did add about 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/3 cup of blueberries. Topped with homemade syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I used to make great pancakes, pre-vegan days. Having trouble since. This recipe is great. I substituted soymilk and lemon juice for buttermilk, olive oil for butter, soy flour and water for egg, and ground the kasha in my coffee grinder. Turned out great, tender, moist and fluffy. Substitutions work well. Definitely a keeper. My 2 year old is even eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States