Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Super yummy! I too used half whole wheat and half buckwheat, I cut out the white flour altogether. Even the fussy eaters ate these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
What a treat! I have always LOVED buckwheat pancakes, but had to rely on the rare occasion when I could find them on a restaurant menu as buckwheat flour years ago was difficult to find on store shelves. That has changed, and now that buckwheat flour is readily available I have enjoyed these pancakes at home. Don't expect them to be like buttermilk pancakes as the taste is entirely different. This is a GREAT recipe I've used for several years, and I love the inclusion of the buttermilk. I just wish you could make buckwheat pancakes, butter and syrup lo cal, so we could enjoy these more often instead of as an occasional treat. Thanks for sharing your recipe Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Flavour wise, these were really good! I took the suggestion of some of the other users and let the batter sit overnight, but it didn't seem to help at all, the pancakes were still really thin and not fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
These pancakes were the consistency of water. Even after I added more flour to thicken they were still very runny. I did use reconstituted butter milk powder and water for the buttermilk called for but still think they would have been runny. Maybe I will try the recipe again with fresh buttermilk and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This batter was runnier than traditional pancake batter, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth P.
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
i followed the advice of other members and prepared my batter the night before. the pancakes did turn out fluffy, but they buckwheat flavor was overpowering. i've had buckwheat pancakes in restaurants before and liked them, but these didn't really do it for me. sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa in london

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This recipe was very tasty, and the pancakes turned out light and fluffy. Based on other's reviews, I decreased the baking soda to 1/2 t., and increased the sugar to 1 T. and added 1/2 t. cinnamon. Then I added fresh blueberries to each pancake while cooking. My husband went back for seconds and thirds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This recipe is great, especially if you have a yearning for a healthier breakfast however, if you have issues with wheat and gluten, I just wanted to inform you that the recipe would be so much healthier if you omit the flour. I even omit the buttermilk and substitute rice milk because milk makes most food automatically un-healthy for people that are lactose intolerant. So, I'm not criticising, just wanted to share this for people like me that usually adopt the recipes from this site because they are already so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
These were a big hit for easter breakfast! i ended up using whole wheat flower instead of the white flower and added some bananas at the request of my daughter! They came out delicious and moist! Great recipe and we have left overs to freeze for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
We've tried many recipes for buckwheat pancakes and this is our favorite! Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States