Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Delicious! Just made these and they turned out beautifully. I made 2 alterations. I used 8 tbs of buckwheat flour and 4 tbs of all-purpose flour for a more pronounced buckwheat flavor. Also added a 1/4 tsp of baking powder. Light, fluffy and delicate. Added some blueberries and served with real maple syrup. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These are excellent pancakes. I did substitute plain, non-fat yogurt for the buttermilk because I didn't have any on hand. It made the batter really thick, which was great, and it really foamed up which made them very fluffy. The bubbles in the batter are a reaction between the acid buttermilk (or yogurt) and the bicarbonate in the baking soda. If you leave out the baking soda (as one reviewer recommended) you will have flat, cardboard pancakes. Baking soda does need to be mixed thoroughly with dry ingredients before adding the wet, that may have been the problem with "tasting baking soda."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I made this a Gluten-Free version by substituting equal parts coconut flour and tapioca starch for the wheat flour (6 TB wheat flour = 3 TB coconut flour and 3 TB tapioca starch). I also added 1/4 tsp xanthan gum. Wonderful recipe! As per other suggestions, let the batter sit before cooking, and do not over-mix! If you have run out of maple syrup, try these with a sprinkling of sugar and a squeeze of lemon juice- very British, and totally delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amsuka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These are pretty good! I've never had buckwheat before. It's different, but tasty and healthy. The only change I made was to add about 1 tsp. cinnamon. There was something a little off-putting about them, and I think it's the baking soda. I wonder if they would be better with aluminum-free baking powder? Something to try next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Good stuff! I will say that instead of baking soda, I used a full TBSP. of baking powder in the batter. This made a fluffy pancake with a lighter texture. I used Bob's Red Mill buckwheat flour. This recipe tripled made 18 pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My kids LOVED these pancakes and asked for more! I loved them as well. I did make the batter the night before and I think that helped. I also would recommend cooking them on low heat. I will be making these many times in the future!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steffy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I made a few changes to the recipe: I replaced the buttermilk with 1/2 cup yogurt and 1/2 cup almond milk. I substituted applesauce for the butter. I halved the salt and baking soda (and added a little baking powder). And I left out the sugar, but added blueberries and bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
A tasty recipe but had to make some changes based on special diet. Reduced the amount of baking soda, 1 tsp is definitely too much. Used 1/2 tsp baking soda and just a smidgen more than 1/4 tsp salt. Used 1 cup unsweetened almond milk, 12 tbsp of buckwheat flour and no all-purpose flour, 3 tbsp of xylitol sweetener. Can't use syrup on top so I needed that extra bit of sweetness. Just a personal preference though. Everything else remained the same. I loved these pancakes and letting the batter sit for a while definitely makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Wow... I don't know how these have such high reviews. Waaay too much salt/baking soda taste (i thought that looked like a lot of salt going in!). And I'm an huge salt fiend. The texture was perfect light, and fluffy. I especially liked that this buckwheat recipe didn't require yeast like many do, making it faster, so I hope by cutting back on the salt and soda next time they will come out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Very good, we have been trying new grains and just purchased some buckwheat flour. This was a successful first. The one thing I did differently was used 1 tsp of baking powder, 1/2 tsp of baking soda, 1/2 tsp of salt. I have never used buttermilk without using a combination baking powder and soda. We also did not use the butter in the pan, just a cooking spray. Thank you for sharing such a fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States