Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Yummo! Able to feed 1 adult with small appetite, and 3 children ages 1, 2, and 5, but I wish I'd doubled as I would've gladly eaten more. Next time I would reduce the salt to 1/4 ts: perhaps my salted butter made them a bit too salty, although it wasn't as apparent when eaten with stewed apples, fried bananas and maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I changed this up. I used applesauce for the butter and I didn't have any buttermilk so I used 1/4 cup plain yogurt & 3/4 cup milk. I made a mistake and did 1 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg and clove to the dry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I substituted Jiffy Baking Mix (similar to Bisquick) for the all-purpose flour. Since it has baking soda already, I left out the baking soda but added one and a half teaspoons baking powder; I cut the salt to a few shakes. You can mix them up this way and use the batter immediately; they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These were great! I made these at home and brought them to work and had breakfast with my co-worker. We both thought they were delicious! I didn't have buttermilk so I used regular milk and 1 TBL spoon lemon as suggested by Lou (thanks, Lou!) and I also let them sit an extra hour so they would be fluffier. Thank you for submitting, I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Mixed up a double batch of these pancakes yesterday. My mom used to make buckwheat pancakes when I was a kid & when I found the flour I decided to try. I used sour milk/half & half mixture I had...batter seemed a bit salty, but after sitting overnight, just great today. This will be a regular pancake...try a piece of cheddar cheese with pancakes. Cut's the sweetness of the syrup, I guess. Another one of mom's ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Fantastic! Surprisingly light and fluffy! I didn't have buttermilk, so I used low fat yogurt. The pancakes still tasted good, so it seems the substitution works. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Delicious! Just made these and they turned out beautifully. I made 2 alterations. I used 8 tbs of buckwheat flour and 4 tbs of all-purpose flour for a more pronounced buckwheat flavor. Also added a 1/4 tsp of baking powder. Light, fluffy and delicate. Added some blueberries and served with real maple syrup. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These are excellent pancakes. I did substitute plain, non-fat yogurt for the buttermilk because I didn't have any on hand. It made the batter really thick, which was great, and it really foamed up which made them very fluffy. The bubbles in the batter are a reaction between the acid buttermilk (or yogurt) and the bicarbonate in the baking soda. If you leave out the baking soda (as one reviewer recommended) you will have flat, cardboard pancakes. Baking soda does need to be mixed thoroughly with dry ingredients before adding the wet, that may have been the problem with "tasting baking soda."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I made this a Gluten-Free version by substituting equal parts coconut flour and tapioca starch for the wheat flour (6 TB wheat flour = 3 TB coconut flour and 3 TB tapioca starch). I also added 1/4 tsp xanthan gum. Wonderful recipe! As per other suggestions, let the batter sit before cooking, and do not over-mix! If you have run out of maple syrup, try these with a sprinkling of sugar and a squeeze of lemon juice- very British, and totally delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amsuka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These are pretty good! I've never had buckwheat before. It's different, but tasty and healthy. The only change I made was to add about 1 tsp. cinnamon. There was something a little off-putting about them, and I think it's the baking soda. I wonder if they would be better with aluminum-free baking powder? Something to try next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States