Best Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
After researching several buckwheat pancake recipes, I settled on these with a few straight out substitutions for the "less healthy" ingredients. These were surprisingly tasty, light, and fluffy. I thought they would need to be a bit sweeter, but with the blueberry syrup I made, they were perfect. They were a tad salty for my tastes, so next time I will reduce the salt to 1 tsp. I made the following substitutions: spelt flour for the the all-purpose, applesauce for the butter (all of it) and rapadura (evaporated cane juice) for the white sugar. I also let it sit for 30 min. I had hoped based on other reviews that they would not rise so well as I was trying to use our Star Wars pancake forms, unfortunately they rose considerably. My son and husband (who are hesitant to eat anything healthy) requested more while commenting several times how good these were. That deserves 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daisywine
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Hi! I made this recipe today, I substituted several of the ingredients and I really liked how they turned out and tasted. For the Buttermilk I used 1-1/2 cups 2% milk and a half cup of plain soymilk and I added 2 T. apple cider vinegar and I let it sit for five mins. to become the buttermilk version. I also, used Almond Meal Flour in place of the all purpose flour and I had to add an extra 1/2 cup of buckwheat flour using the four serving calculations. I used Earth Balance spread in place of the butter in the frying pan. I also used coconut spread in place of the butter in the batter. I used organic coconut sugar in place of the sugar. I only added 1/4 t. of salt since the coconut spread tastes salty. This is the first time for me using these substitutes in baking. Delicous!! I am on an Organic kick and very healthly eating kick. The four servings made a lot of pancakes, I am freezing the rest of the made pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisywine
Home Town: Spring Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I scale this recipe up to 12 servings and substitute the all-purpose flour for more buckwheat flour to make it gluten-free. Way better than the gluten-free mixes at the store. I prefer to use whole milk buttermilk when I have it, but regular works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is my go-to pancake recipe. I've been making them for years. My boyfriend asks for them all the time. He recently bought some local maple syrup while up in NY and what did he do? He brought it home and begged me to make "those pancakes." The batter is very runny so I prefer to use a small pan to make the 4-inch pancakes the recipe suggests. I find it very hard to make small cakes with a large pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I substituted white flour for gf flour mix, substituted melted butter for melted earth balance vegan butter, added 1/8 tsp of xanthan gum, added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, substituted white sugar for raw sugar. GF alternative/healthy version... yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Horrible. Worst pancake recipe ever. I followed it exactly, save for using a gluten free flour mix in lieu of white flour, which I have used before many times with no problems. The batter was so thick I ended up using an entire carton of buttermilk to thin it out to pourable consistency. And then it wouldn't hold together. I added extra oil and two more eggs just to make it into something that might look like a pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
These were delicious! I mashed a banana and added it to the batter along with chopped walnuts. I did as others suggested and let the batter set for a little over two hours. Medium high heat proved to be too high (they kept burning before they were cooked through), but medium to medium low worked. Also, don't try to make them too thick - after making a few large ones, I discovered they come out better a little smaller, and much thinner, than regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Great Recipe! I doubled the recipe except for the salt which I left at 1 tsp. I also subed virgin coccnut oil for the veg oil and white whole wheat flour for the AP flour. (3/4 c. white ww) and 3/4c. buckwheat) I let the batter sit for about 10 min and the pancakes were light, fluffy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Very good recipe - thank you. My pancakes turned out very nice, but I did some modifications and would like to share my experience. I doubled the recipe, skipped butter in the mixing stage, but slightly smeared it on ready hot pancakes. Also, I squeezed about 1 teaspoon of lemon juice on my baking soda. Noticed how very important it was not to burn the pancake - I made mine on 4 (electric stovetop) and they turned very pretty. Original setting of 7,6 or 5 slightly burned the pancakes and left quite an unpleasant taste. Ah, I also covered my frying pan with a cover. On the second try I wanted to make exactly 8 pancakes - so, my proportion was 1cup of plain kefir, or laban, 4 tbsp buckwheat flour and all purpose each, some salt, 1 egg. After mixing, leave it for some time (overnight for me), add 1 tsp. baking soda and lemon juice each, mix and start making pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
They were good, but, they were thin, rubbery and too much baking soda. I am an Insulin dependent fire fighter and need to control my glycemic index. Here are the changes I made. 1/2c. whole wheat flour, 1/2c. Buckwheat flour, 1/2tsp. baking soda, 1tsp salt, 1tblsp Splenda, dash of cinnamon and dash of nutmeg, mix well with a wire wisk. Add wet ingredients- one egg, 1c. skim milk, 1/2 tsp vanilla. Mix well with the wire wisk and let it set for 5 mins. The mixture looks a little brownish gray, but, they will be fluffy and taste great. I put fat free country crock and sugar free syrup on mine and it was wonderful! The mixture yields about 6-8 pancakes. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States