Best Bruschetta Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Very Nice, BUT... here's what I added/changed: Balsamic Vinegar 2 cloves Roasted Garlic (not raw) Fresh diced Basil (more) Vidalia diced Onion(sweet) Since Parmesan is very strong, I halved the amount and used ONLY freshly grated Aged Parmigiano Reggiano Parmesan and the other half I used Freshly grated Pecorino Romano. On the bread I: Quickly toasted the bread on high heat on each side for 90 seconds (this gives you a very nice texture of crispy outside with a pliable inside (which keeps the toast from "shattering" when bitten. Plus the bread still has a nice flavor. And Most Important: Use San Marzano Tomantoes instead of Romas... they have much more flavor and are Sweeter than romas. This really gets your taste buds going with the contradictions of flavors. If you can grow and use them from your garden, Even better! If you want mini pizzas: do the MooseArella thingy. I have read many variations and all are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
439 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
It was definitely missing something, so I did what someone else suggested and added maybe a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar, and I used fresh basil, instead of dried. I also added some freshly diced onion for a little kick, and it was perfect. Also, I would let it set out for a bit after refrigeration, and serve it on garlic bread... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawavediva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Fantastic!! Restaurant quality! I should have doubled the recipe. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and added balsamic vinagar. I put the ingrediants on freshly made italian herb bread and toasted it in the oven at 350 degrees for maybe fifteen minutes. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
This is delicious & tastes better the longer you let it sit in the fridge. I tasted it, & although it was very delicious, wanted to add my own special "touch" to it. So I added a splash of Balsamic Vinegar, some red pepper flakes, salt, & freshly ground black pepper. We used fresh basil, & may consider adding some onion next time. This is a great basic recipe that you can customize to your desire. You can add fresh herbs (oregano, parsley, rosemary, etc.), different cheeses (Romano, Asiago), etc. Have fun with it. Enjoy on a crusty baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
When I made this I took a loaf of French bread and sliced it lengthwise, brushed a little olive oil on it and toasted it for just a few minutes. Then I added the bruschetta mixture and put it back in the oven for around 10 minutes. I think I'll sprinkle a little mozzarella over it next time but this was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Definently a great bruschetta recipe! I think next time I try I will follow previous reviewers suggestions and add a little more onion (I only added a tiny bit) and a splash of balsamic vinegar to give it a little more flavor. I toasted the baguette at 350 for about 5 min. and then topped it with the mixture and stuck it back in there for about 3 more min. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I have to be honest, I didn't even get to taste this...I made it for a party of 70 and put it out...by the time I turned around, it was all wiped out so I'm guessing everyone loved it. I cut French bread into rounds, brushed with olive oil, and toasted in oven for 10 mins at 350. Bruschetta was added right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I love this site but get disgusted with people who totally change the recipes. Submit your own! AND the food snobs who say "only use FRESH this" or "only the best that". Good grief people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Goodfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I used 1/2 the amount of basil, 1/2 the amount of Parm (but really used romano, don't like the flavor of parm), let sit overnight. Toasted sliced french bread, then put on the tomato mixture with mozzarella and placed in oven to broil, just until a light golden color. VERY YUMMY. Already have had to share the recipe with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
This was a total hit at my girls party this weekend! I used all fresh ingredients and added some chopped cilantro and some chopped purple onion. I used shredded parmesan which made the consistency really good! I minced the garlic up really good to make it a paste before I added it then I let it sit overnight like the recipe said. I piled it on bite site bagette slices and broiled until the edges of the bread were toasted instead of just serving cold. My friends couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States