Best Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I added approximately one tablespoon of cream cheese to the icing. These were very good and rich. My husband also kept saying how good they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
These brownies are FANTASTIC!! I only give 4 stars because the frosting seems off. It tastes great but it needs about 1/4 c. milk to make it spreadable. I've tried putting it on right out of the oven and it still doesn't spread. Most often though, I make them without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
These were awesome! My husband doesn't even like brownies but he told me to save this recipe! I didn't make the frosting, which I'm happy about because these were fudgy all on their own...frosting may be overkill. I didn't make any changes other than sprinkling some chocolate chips on top prior to baking. It's rare for me to not want to alter recipes, but these are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cameron Moody
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This recipe is perfect! However, a word of warning about the frosting: It takes quite a lot of work to turn these ingredients into frosting. I could have sworn I did something wrong after a few minutes of mixing and compressing ("It's just... powder..."), but I kept on with it and eventually, finally, it turned into something that resembled frosting. It was a powdery mess for the longest time, but finally changed into delicious frosting. So don't be discouraged! The brownies are much easier than the frosting, so expect to work for that chocolatey coating. I did, however, add about a teaspoon and a half of half-and-half to the frosting AFTER it was fully mixed and it gave it just the creamy consistency I wanted. That being said, I think the recipe deserves 5 stars even without this change. The heat from the brownies when they come out of the oven melted the frosting perfectly, making it easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameron Moody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scotts Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
very nice recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Meh. I mixed (by hand) all of the ingredients. I only mixed until moistened (all big clumps gone). Even taking care not to overbake- 20 minutes, my brownies came out tasting too buttery, not chocolatey enough, and pretty cake like. I would up the cocoa, reduce butter to half and sub unsweetened applesauce or plain yogurt and maybe add milk or reduce the egg to one. Basically, I would change the who recipe..lol. I can make an eggless brownie in a mug that tastes better than this. Next time I will try revisions and possibly add some Nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SybilK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
they're decent, nothing too special :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Schmitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Wonderful brownie! Not too cakey and not too fudgey. I doubled the recipe and used a 9X13 pan. Will use this recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
These were too delicious! Don't make them if you have little to no willpower, as they are hard to stay away from. I did feel they could just a little less sugar, so the next time I make them I will cut out 1/4 cup of sugar. I didn't make the frosting but instead added 1 cup of dark chocolate chips on top before baking. Amazing, and this is now my go-to brownie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
These are delicious! Best brownies I've ever made! I have doubled the batch and baked for 30 minutes. I've never used the frosting, the brownies are sweet and rich on their own. Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States