Best Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I canNOT understand all these negative reviews that say these brownies are just chocolate cake and not moist like brownies should be. How can people follow the same recipe and get such different results?? They must be beating the daylights out of the batter with an electric mixer to make them come out anywhere near "cake". I mixed the ingredients together easily with just a wooden spoon and after 25 minutes in the oven, they were a-w-e-s-o-m-e. I was looking for a replacement to my previous "Best Ever" brownie recipe that I got off the back of a Nestle Choco-Bake box. It was my "go to" for years, but Choco-Bake is no longer available in stores and substitutions for it were not the same. This recipe was a welcome relief and completely comparable to my old favorite. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
These brownies were average in flavour, to much sugar and too little chocolate. The textue was not brownie-like in any way! They were dry and cake-y instead of moist and chewy. They are alright as a quick craving fix, but do not suffice if you want that thick, chewy, and fudgy brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Excellent brownies!! Only adjustment I made was in the icing, only used 1/4c confectioners sugar, gave the icing a beautiful bittersweet flavour. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Was amazing! FOR THOSE WHO ARE CALORIE COUNTERS I BROKE DOWN THE ENTIRE RECIPE FOR CALORIC VALUE---- TOTAL CALORIES FOR THIS DISH ARE 2,947Cal. I cut my dish into 8 pieces which brought the caloric intake of 1 equal sized brownie equals roughly 368Cal. give or take 1 Cal (Calorie).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vannessa Diaz
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
No first time make this brownie. They come out very good. My kids love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vannessa Diaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
We will never buy boxed brownies again! This came together so fast. It was so delicious and fudgy, it wasn't cakey at all. 25 minutes was perfect! Remember to flour the pan, it will help prevent sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
worth a try for a first time baker... nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This recipe is pretty good. It's not overly chocolatey. The brownies are kind of firm but not crispy, as long as you don't over cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Schaefer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Didn't make the frosting, but it was delicious by itself. Had to make a second batch within a week. Yum. I added some strawberry topping I had lying around and swirled it in the batter and it was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Ok, these are pretty good, it turns out, just not what I was hunting for. I agree with another reviewer that they are somewhere in between cake like and fudgy. They also have to have cooled down in order to be any good. They are no good hot. Once they cool down and set up, the frosting melds in with the brownie and it's almost like a brownie bar. You have to remove from the oven while the middle is slightly underdone. Once it loses the glossiness and the sides are all cooked, take it out. The middle will not come out clean from a toothpick. However, about 3 minutes later, sitting on the counter top, then it will come out all clean. For my oven I have to take them out at 17 min! The honey is interesting. In the frosting plain I could taste it kind of strongly. But the next day it was not noticeable. It's nice they are so easy but I honestly prefer dense and chewy. Good luck. Give them a try. Might be what you were looking for in your life. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,063) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States