Best Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
So this was an experiment for me, I was low on flour but wanted something sweet. So I subbed in pancake mix for the flour, baking powder and salt. Doubled the recipe, nixed the icing, and cooked it in a round stone pan. It turned out great, but maybe a little over sweet, although I might have counted wrong when adding the sugar... Very dense, chewy, and good! Also, I found the measurements in the directions a little confusing since they didn't match the 16 servings laid out for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was NOT the best brownie by any means, and I think the ratings show there are a lot of people thinking sugar is the answer for something 'tasting good'. We truly have become a society of sugar addicted people. Sad. Suffice it to say, there is entirely too much sugar in this recipe. My daughter is the one who made this, she actually doubled it and in doing so accidently put down 2 cups of flour instead of 1, I thought for sure they would turn out tasting like it had too much flour, not even close! If you ask me I'd say it needs a lot more! The sugar ratio to flour ratio is shocking to say the least and don't get me started on adding honey to sugar for the frosting! Yikes! I literally gagged when I tried it. I'm shocked to find so many high ratings for something that is clearly more sugar than anything. But then again seeing how many people are unaware of how much sugar they eat day in and day out, I shouldn't be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Superb. I doubled it right off the bat. And good thing I did. They went fast. For the butter, I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 coconut oil. It came out with a pleasant hint of coconut flavor. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very tasty. More "cake-like" than I prefer with brownies -- even mixing by hand -- but not all the way to fluffiness. I think the texture might work better if I added nuts or some other extra. Only deviation from the recipe came because I was out of vanilla extract; used brandy instead, with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tnott
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
We wanted to make brownies and this happened to be the recipes I already had everything for. They were delicious! The only thing we didn't include was the honey. I will definitely be making this again. Very easy and simple ingredients! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Easy and delicious! I doubled the recipe and baked this in a 9x13 pan. I stirred everything in instead of using the mixer to make sure the brownies would come out fudge and not cake-like. I baked the brownies for 25 minutes and they were perfect - moist and slightly chewy. For the frosting, I followed the suggestion of others and only used half of the recommended amount of powdered sugar. I spread the frosting on top of the brownies shortly after they came out of the oven and it made a nice glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Amazing brownies! Yummy. I did not put the frosting on and still super yummy! Thanks for the advice on "not over mixing" this made them come out not like a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I doubled the recipe and put it in a 11" x 7" pan. Also the frosting was way to dry, not spreadable so I added 2-3 tablesppons of buttermilk I just happened to have in the fridge and mixed it with an electric hand mixer. I think 1/2 & 1/2 would work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Benson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I've made these twice now and they are amazing. The recipe is confusing though. On the list of ingredients it says one thing and in the instructions it says another. I used the amounts stated in the instructions and they come out great. With the frosting I add about 1T of milk so it will actually blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I just made these today. I have made them for years! This recipe actually comes from the 1994 Hershey's 100th Anniversary dessert cookbook which I have had since 1994. It is also called Best Brownies and my family love them. I doubled the recipe to put into a 9 x 13 pan and bake exactly 20 minutes. I decided to change the topping and used Milk Chocolate Heath Toffee bits and a chocolate drizzle made with melted chocolate chips and a tsp of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States