Best Breakfast Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
WOW!! These are so good we have a hard time stopping at 1 or 2! I pour boiling water over the prunes, apricots and dried cranberries (which we like better than raisins) so they can get soft and plump up then use the water off the dried fruit for my 2T. I puree the prunes in the blender with the liquid ingredients. When the prunes and liquid are blended well, I add the apricots and pulse a few times to chop, then the nuts and cranberries. That way there is no chopping and all the liquid ingredients are in one place and ready to pour into the dry. The dough is stiff, but needs no extra liquid..especially with the softened fruit which adds a little more moisture. We stir as much as possible then finish with our hands! Most ovens are different but we usually end up baking these for 8 1/2 to 9 minutes as they do get dry if baked too long and are so much better a little underbaked. May help to do a few test cookies to get the time right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This recipe was great! Just helpful hint to all, you can use baby food prunes, for the prune puree. It is alot faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This is a phenomenal recipe! I took some of the advice from the other reviews and made a few changes to turn these into Chocolate Chocolate Chip Breakfast Cookies. I used 3 1/2 cups whole wheat flour instead of white, and (because these are for my kids) I processed the rolled oats to a fine consistency in the food processor. I also added 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa to the dry ingredients. I substituted 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the prune puree, and omitted the dried fruit and nuts. I added a bag of high quality dark chocolate chips. I scooped out the dough onto a baking sheet and put it in the freezer for a few minutes for ease of handling. Then I patted down the dough and wrapped the cookies to freeze. This way, I can just pull these out of the freezer and bake them fresh before school every morning. My kids LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I own a small espresso cafe and bakery and we made these cookies for the first time on Wednesday. The batter was a little dry so we added an extra quarter cup of prune puree. I couldn't believe how fast they sold. We ended up making them again on Thursday and Friday because demand was so high. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Made these great cookies today changing a few things 1.) I also used baby food prunes less time consuming. 2.) I cut the apricots with my kitchen shears 3.) I used 1 cup of applesauce in place of the 1/2 cup canola oil,it makes the dough a little more moist and easier to work with. Hope you find this helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
These are wonderful--just like Baker's Breakfast Cookies! I did make a few changes to suit my needs. I used half whole wheat flour, substituted chopped peanuts for the walnuts, cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups, and used olive oil instead of canola. They were wonderful! (I've made three batches in the last week!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
These were great!! I tried them with applesauce instead of the prune puree and baked them for the 10 minutes so they were more like cookies. The kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
These cookies are sooo good! Really only bake these for 8 - 10 minutes, or they get dry. They are like a muffin and a cookie, so if they are overcooked, they get dry. I made a few substitutions, I added a dried fruit mix of dried apricots, dried apples and prunes, chopped; I substituted applesauce for the prune puree; proccesssed the oats in my food processor until fine, like another reviewer; I substituted 2 cups of wheat flour for 2 cups of the all purpose flour; I used 1 tsp. of cinnamon; omitted the nuts and added 2/3 cup cocoa powder and chocolate chips because I wanted the kids to like them. They were delicious! Perfect for breakfast. I did like another reviewer and patted some of the cookies out and froze them, then I can throw them in the oven in the morning. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This recipe is just like the real cookie!! I substitued the ap flour for Whole wheat, just like in the real cookies. I've also made other variations like Peanut Butter, Mocha Chocolate chip, Apple Pie. I highly recommend this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Chopping the dried fruits, making prune puree was time consuming. The dough is very thick and dry; I used 1/2 c. water instead of 2 Tbsp. I mixed by hand, like kneading heavy bread dough, so I wouldn't burn out the motor on my electric mixer. Cookies turned out nicely, freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States