Best Breakfast Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Chopping the dried fruits, making prune puree was time consuming. The dough is very thick and dry; I used 1/2 c. water instead of 2 Tbsp. I mixed by hand, like kneading heavy bread dough, so I wouldn't burn out the motor on my electric mixer. Cookies turned out nicely, freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I love these cookies. Great with your morning coffee! It did take a while to puree the prunes and chop the apricots, but I think it's worth it. These are very tasty and filling. The suggestion I have is to stick to the recipe with greasing the cookie sheet. I tried using my baking stone and they turned out okay, but wanted to stick to it. Plus the bottoms were a little too soft. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANITAS2GIRLS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This recipe was great! Just helpful hint to all, you can use baby food prunes, for the prune puree. It is alot faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
These are wonderful--just like Baker's Breakfast Cookies! I did make a few changes to suit my needs. I used half whole wheat flour, substituted chopped peanuts for the walnuts, cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups, and used olive oil instead of canola. They were wonderful! (I've made three batches in the last week!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
These are really good! I have made them several times, substituting different kinds of dried fruit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Made these great cookies today changing a few things 1.) I also used baby food prunes less time consuming. 2.) I cut the apricots with my kitchen shears 3.) I used 1 cup of applesauce in place of the 1/2 cup canola oil,it makes the dough a little more moist and easier to work with. Hope you find this helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This recipe is just like the real cookie!! I substitued the ap flour for Whole wheat, just like in the real cookies. I've also made other variations like Peanut Butter, Mocha Chocolate chip, Apple Pie. I highly recommend this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
These were definitely soft, no doubt. Even my picky boyfriend liked these. I did omit the cinnamon and added chocolate chips instead which made it even better. I think I'll hang on to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Quite good! I made these last night and had to modify the recipe some to use the ingredients I had on hand. I ran out of flour and had to use about 1 2/3 cups of cocoa for the missing flour, I used 1 cup of applesauce and omitted the oil, prunes, & water, used dried apples rather than apricots, and used 2 whole eggs and an egg white rather than 5 egg whites. The resulting cookies were very chocolatey and very decadent-tasting for being practically fat free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Yummy! I used oat bran flour for the regular flour because I'm trying to lower my cholesteral. I also used chocolate covered raisins in place of the regular raisins and the apricots. I used baby food prunes as well pumpkin puree in place of the oil. They came out really good! Will be making them in big batches this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States