Best Breakfast Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
i substituted prune puree for apple sauce and walnuts for almonds. soooo good!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
These were good but a little dry. I will try to bake them a little less next time. I added baby food prunes and dates instead of apricots. My kids liked them and they were easy to grab on the way to work in the morning. I would like to have a little more texture and a bit less dry cookie, and so may experiment with nuts and fruits and flavorings. Very good with a few personal improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Delicious! My kids and husband love them...they're probably the best lowfat cookie I've had! I also used applesauce instead of prune puree and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly and they were amazingly soft and delicious! I took five dozen to work and everyone looked at me rather skeptically when I said they were low fat as I take sweet fatty goodies usually - they were gobbled up in no time! Warning though; they are very soft and will stick together so don't throw them in the cookie jar; layer with parchment or cellophane inbetween the layers. I will definitely make these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I own a small espresso cafe and bakery and we made these cookies for the first time on Wednesday. The batter was a little dry so we added an extra quarter cup of prune puree. I couldn't believe how fast they sold. We ended up making them again on Thursday and Friday because demand was so high. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This was a nice recipe for oatmeal cookies. When cooked for around 8 min. the cookies were too soft and raw. I found that 10 min. worked well. Even though I left out the nuts and other stuff it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
WOW!! These are so good we have a hard time stopping at 1 or 2! I pour boiling water over the prunes, apricots and dried cranberries (which we like better than raisins) so they can get soft and plump up then use the water off the dried fruit for my 2T. I puree the prunes in the blender with the liquid ingredients. When the prunes and liquid are blended well, I add the apricots and pulse a few times to chop, then the nuts and cranberries. That way there is no chopping and all the liquid ingredients are in one place and ready to pour into the dry. The dough is stiff, but needs no extra liquid..especially with the softened fruit which adds a little more moisture. We stir as much as possible then finish with our hands! Most ovens are different but we usually end up baking these for 8 1/2 to 9 minutes as they do get dry if baked too long and are so much better a little underbaked. May help to do a few test cookies to get the time right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Warning! The recipe instructions do not tell when to add the sugar. I added 1 cup at the end with the fruit and they still turned out well. You have to use your hands to mix, not your mixer, dough is very thick. Any advice on how to make prune puree, e-mail me, cinnamonsmithrn@yahoo.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
These were great!! I tried them with applesauce instead of the prune puree and baked them for the 10 minutes so they were more like cookies. The kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I loved them. My husband didn't like the apricots, so I'm trying currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States