Best Breakfast Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I used wheat flour and reduced the amount to 3 1/2 cups,1/3 cup of lite applesauce in place of the oil, 1 cup brown sugar with splenda in place of the 2 cups of brown sugar, and 2 baby food jars of carrots in place of the prunes. Oh my goodness, delicious!!!! I wrapped each cookie individually and placed in a ziploc bag in the freezer and they are great when thawed. My daughter is always asking for more. I make hers with chocolate chips and she says they are better than any granola bar I've ever bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Zing! Had one for breakfast this morning and it woke me right up. Lots of energy in this tasty morsel. Taste is very good, but for me the texture is a bit off. My batter was too dry so I added a few extra tablespoons of water and now they are a bit too wet. Also, the cooking time was a bit off (at least on my oven. I left them in for about 10-11 minutes, and they were a tad undercooked for my taste (I like my cookies chewy!). Still, very good--I would make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
My daughter just had a baby & I made up a batch of these to help out w/ getting breakfast for the older kids. They're delish! I used 2 jars of plum baby food for the prune puree & I used equal amounts of golden raisins, dried apricots & dried pineapple bits. I baked for 10 minutes & got chewy cookies. At 8 minutes, they were still pretty raw. Thansk for a great recipe Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by White Raven
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
So good you wouldn't know they are healthy! I used applesauce in place of the oil and lined my pan with parchment paper. I used wheat flour instead of bleached and added just a few chocolate chips. I used craisens and raisens and no nuts. So yummy, even my 19month old loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
i used two small containers of prune baby food instead of puree and water. very yummy. kids thought i'd lost my mind serving them cookies for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
These cookies are sooo good! Really only bake these for 8 - 10 minutes, or they get dry. They are like a muffin and a cookie, so if they are overcooked, they get dry. I made a few substitutions, I added a dried fruit mix of dried apricots, dried apples and prunes, chopped; I substituted applesauce for the prune puree; proccesssed the oats in my food processor until fine, like another reviewer; I substituted 2 cups of wheat flour for 2 cups of the all purpose flour; I used 1 tsp. of cinnamon; omitted the nuts and added 2/3 cup cocoa powder and chocolate chips because I wanted the kids to like them. They were delicious! Perfect for breakfast. I did like another reviewer and patted some of the cookies out and froze them, then I can throw them in the oven in the morning. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Great recipe - my son loves them and I can't usually get him to eat breakfast - I made the chocolate version from the earlier review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Delicious! I just made these and they are phenomenally good! I followed the recipe exactly - I used two containers of baby food prunes for the prune puree. I also used Craisins instead of raisins and pecans instead of walnuts. Everyone in my family loves them! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This is a phenomenal recipe! I took some of the advice from the other reviews and made a few changes to turn these into Chocolate Chocolate Chip Breakfast Cookies. I used 3 1/2 cups whole wheat flour instead of white, and (because these are for my kids) I processed the rolled oats to a fine consistency in the food processor. I also added 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa to the dry ingredients. I substituted 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the prune puree, and omitted the dried fruit and nuts. I added a bag of high quality dark chocolate chips. I scooped out the dough onto a baking sheet and put it in the freezer for a few minutes for ease of handling. Then I patted down the dough and wrapped the cookies to freeze. This way, I can just pull these out of the freezer and bake them fresh before school every morning. My kids LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISCOSTELLOFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
ooo, yummy! I halved the recipe and used all applesauce instead of prune puree and oil for ease/healthiness. I also omitted the other dried fruits and nuts and just used 1/2 cup raisins to make them "oatmeal raisin" flavored. the recipe yield is dead-on (for once, lol!). i measured them out using a 1/4 cup and got 15 great-sized cookies. My only regret is that i cooked them for 10 minutes and i think that's why they're a little tough. They didn't seem "done enough" for my liking at 8 minutes, but i think taking them out then would've yielded a softer, moister cookie. Regardless, they taste fantastic and i can't wait to make them again! Very healthy and delicious for snacks or breakfast, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Breakfast Strata

See how to make the perfect brunch dish.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States